Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was an excellent recipe!! I did take everyone's advice and I actually used 7 eggs, about 1/4 cup melted butter, milk instead of cream and added about 1/2 c. onion and 1/2 c. green bell pepper and seasoned both the hashbrowns and egg mixture to taste. Also, I did not need to cook it as long as suggested after adding the egg and such, but it still turned out awesome! All of my co-workers loved the recipe and I plan on making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Everytime I make this I'm asked for the recipe. I did take everyone's suggestion to add more eggs (I usually do 6) and I only use as many hash browns as it takes to make a crust. Also, just from trial and error, I completely thaw out the hash browns and I end up baking them a little longer than the recipe suggests. I like them to be browned before I add the eggs. This is an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
GREAT starter recipe. I've used a variation of this recipe at least a dozen times. The main change to make is to INCREASE the eggs. 2 is not enough. I use 6. Otherwise, it is just your preferences....I use a 9x13 pan, milk in lieu of cream, and only about 1/4 cup of butter. Play around with veggies, sausage, etc. to suit your taste. I really enjoy this recipe and have gotten numerous compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Very good starter recipe, but I made many changes/additions. Used freshly shredded potatoes instead of frozen hash browns...can't beat the flavor of fresh! Only used about 3-4 T. butter. For the filling, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 c. 2% milk, 1/4 c. onion, and 1/4 c. red bell pepper. Also used cheddar instead of jack. Topped with sour cream. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I wish I knew what happened here. All the good recipies and mine went wrong. The cheese burnt. I didn't taste eggs. The only thing this tasted like was hahbrowns. I don't even want to try again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I love this dish and have made it on several occasions. So far, I haven't received anything but compliments. I've come to use this recipe more as a guideline than a bible. My variations: I choose the Simply Potatoes Southwestern Style potatoes for added flavor and I always double (sometimes even triple) the eggs. Often, I will use a couple of 'real' eggs, then 2 - 4 servings of 'fake' eggs. I've also included a cup or so of broccoli florets and regularly use a cheese combo like cheddar jack. I like adding a tsp of dry mustard powder, too. Feel free to use half & half or milk--whatever your have on hand--it doesn't seem to influence the final results too drastically one way or the other in my experience. The leftovers are great for weekdays when you have less time, but need more protein than cereal offers. Have fun with this and enjoy your hearty breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I tried this for Christmas and it was great!! I used sausage and cheddar cheese instead. The second time I made it I used 4 eggs and 1% milk. The extra eggs made the dish more fluffy. You must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
the concept is great but the recipe could use some help - 1. I used 7 cups of shredded potatoes mixed woith butter and put into 9x12 pan and baked at 425 for 25 minutes not at all brown so they got 10 more minutes. 2. used 4 eggs as suggested, used 1/2 & 1/2 and added green onion (1/2 c), mustard (1tsp), 2 oz pimentoes, 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce and 2 tsp pork seasoning mix everyone liked it but it still needed more flavor - next time I will use sharp cheddar and fresh parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Very good - although it didn't really feel like "quiche" to me...more like a breakfast casserole BUT IT WAS STILL GOOD! I used "MMorris73" advice: cooked in a 9x12 baking dish and upped the eggs to 4. Also, used half & Half instead of heavy whipping cream and added some minced green onion and red bell peppers for color and taste. Overall - a handsomly good meal that we all enjoyed! In this case - change is good!! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
very good! I used a 9x12 baking dish instead and added 2 more eggs. I also used a "mexican" cheese mix and it turned out just fine. Next time I'll try it with milk, since I don't keep cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States