Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Good. I used Potatoes O'Brien instead of the hash browns. Also added mushrooms. Easy and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I thought my family would like this. They loved it! I took the advice of others (more eggs & less cooking time, used fresh potatoes & added onions to them & made sure they were browned) and the only other change I would make is to have a thinner layer of potatoes. Oh, and I doubled the batch - the leftovers were just as tasty the next day. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Very good. As noted earlier, this recipe is a good starting point but needed some tweaking. Using six eggs was sufficient-any less and I think it would be too dry. Milk instead of cream worked fine. I used the Western Simply Potatoes and it was a little too hot for me. Next time I may use plain potatoes and add a little chopped onion. Oh, and dry mustard would add zip to it. But overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I've made this twice now and the whole family loves it. I took the suggestions from other reviewers and added two more eggs, cooked the potato crust till crispy and used the Simply Potatoes. I used the Southwest flavor along with Mexican Blend cheese and it really spiced the dish up nicely. This will be our Christmas brunch recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My husband likes this better than quiche with a traditional crust. It's easy to make. Be sure to use shredded hash browns, not cubed and thoroughly squeeze the moisture from them using paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Awesome recipe! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was an excellent recipe!! I did take everyone's advice and I actually used 7 eggs, about 1/4 cup melted butter, milk instead of cream and added about 1/2 c. onion and 1/2 c. green bell pepper and seasoned both the hashbrowns and egg mixture to taste. Also, I did not need to cook it as long as suggested after adding the egg and such, but it still turned out awesome! All of my co-workers loved the recipe and I plan on making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Everytime I make this I'm asked for the recipe. I did take everyone's suggestion to add more eggs (I usually do 6) and I only use as many hash browns as it takes to make a crust. Also, just from trial and error, I completely thaw out the hash browns and I end up baking them a little longer than the recipe suggests. I like them to be browned before I add the eggs. This is an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
GREAT starter recipe. I've used a variation of this recipe at least a dozen times. The main change to make is to INCREASE the eggs. 2 is not enough. I use 6. Otherwise, it is just your preferences....I use a 9x13 pan, milk in lieu of cream, and only about 1/4 cup of butter. Play around with veggies, sausage, etc. to suit your taste. I really enjoy this recipe and have gotten numerous compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Very good starter recipe, but I made many changes/additions. Used freshly shredded potatoes instead of frozen hash browns...can't beat the flavor of fresh! Only used about 3-4 T. butter. For the filling, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 c. 2% milk, 1/4 c. onion, and 1/4 c. red bell pepper. Also used cheddar instead of jack. Topped with sour cream. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States