Ham and Cheese Breakfast Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I have used this recipe several times. The latest time, I made it for a work pot luck. I used a 30 oz bag of Oreda shredded hash browns, defrosted and mixed them with melted butter then pressed it into the bottom and sides of 9x13 pan. I baked it for 25+ minutes til edges were a bit brown. I refrigerated the crust overnight. Since you can use any filling, I used about 1 1/2 cups cooked sausage instead of ham plus lots of monterey jack cheese. I used 6 eggs and about 1 1/2-2 cups of half and half. I poured that in the next morning and baked 30 mins. Next time I might add some green onions with sausage. Ham was good when I used it before but sausage went over well. Just depends on your preference. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
THIS WAS EXCELLENT! EVERYBODY LOVED IT AND IT WAS SO EASY. I USED SIMPLY POTATO SHREDDED HASH BROWNS INSTEAD OF THE FROZEN ONES, WHICH ELIMINATED EXTRACTING THE WATER FROM THE FROZEN AND SPEEDED THINGS UP EVEN MORE. I ALSO SUBSTITUTED HALF & HALF FOR THE HEAVY CREAM. WHAT I LIKED MOST ABOUT THE RECIPE IS THERE ARE ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES TO PERSONALIZE IT TO YOUR TASTES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is the best egg dish I have ever made. I used milk instead of cream and bacon rather than the ham and two additional egg whites. I plan to add this to the "standard meals list" for the week. Thank you, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Symes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
You really need to get all of the excess moisture out of the hashbrowns first. I suggest squeezing them between papertowels. I also would recommend cooking the potato mixture longer, 10-15 minutes longer, because it's better crisper. Everyone loves this recipe and I've made it at least 5 times. Great brunch item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is a very good recipe as is. Since I do not like frozen hashbrowns, I substituted parboiled grated potatoes, increased eggs to 5 and cream to 3/4 cup, and added a teaspoon of grey poupon mustard and minced green onions. These additions added a little more flavor to the egg mixture. Thanks for sharing, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
After reading reviews, I tried and was very surprised. I did not add more eggs, but did use skim milk(diet reasons), cheddar cheese, fresh parsley, and baked the crust alone for more than 30 minutes. My hubby who really will only tolerate dishes like this loved it and we ate the whole thing. My kids were not as enthusatic but don't let that stop you. Very tasty and a great change of pace from regular dinner fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It tastes good, so no problem there. However, I'm giving it 3 stars because the amounts in this recipe are way off. For example, I was using a 10-inch glass pie pan, and when I dumped the 24 oz. of potatoes in a bowl, I was like, there is no way that 24 oz. of potatoes will even fit in this pie pan. I used 10 oz. potatoes. Also, there is not quite enough custard to even come up to the top of the 10 oz. of potatoes. So for this recipe, I recommend using 10 oz. of potatoes, 3/4 c. whipping cream, 3 eggs, and maybe 1 1/4 c. grated cheese. This filled my 10-inch glass pie pan. If this is all you're eating for breakfast, you'd probably eat 1/3 or 1/2 the pie per person for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
very good for breakfast. i split the recipe into two separate pie plates and added lots of sauted onion to one - that way both the kids and the grownups were happy. i also added two extra eggs to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I had some sausage that I bought on sale that I used in this recipe instead of diced ham. I also used evaporated milk instead of whipping cream because I don't usually have whipping cream on hand. I did add a little oomph to the eggs/milk mixture (pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, little Frank's hot sauce). This was surprizingly good. I was worried that the crust would be mushy in texture but it really wasn't bad. Next time, I'd throw in another egg and some extras, like sauteed red pepper, onion and garlic. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
We really liked this recipe. I also added extra eggs-3 extra eggs. I think next time I will try it with cheddar cheese instead of the jack cheese. Also maybe try it with bacon or sausage instead of ham-one of my kids doesn't like ham. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States