Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Not what I expected. Really bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is a extremely quick & cheap meal that my family loves! I did modifiy the recipe by switching out mozz for colby and added spicy brown mustard! Taste Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Simple and yummy. A Great recipe for left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written. It was good. I love colby cheese, but this was a little on the bland side. I think I would use sharp cheddar the next time. I will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Very Good! Used 2% cheese of a mix between cheddar and Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Had to make a dish to bring over to a last-minute cookout and chose this one because I had all the ingredients on hand. I used Colby/Jack cheese, left out the mustard, and used evaporated milk to make things extra creamy. Also topped the dish with a combination of panko bread crumbs and grated parmesan. DELICIOUS! Will have to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very good! I'll use this method of making a roux, adding the milk and then stirring in the cheese to make the sauce from now on for Mac & Cheese. I found the ratio of ingredients perfect. I didn't have Colby so I used a shredded cheese blend of mild cheddar and jack. Still mild. I will try all white cheddar next time. We like a little zing so I added 1 cup of finely diced sweet onion & 2 tsp cayenne pepper. Used Dijon instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My family and I really loved this. What a great way to use up leftover ham. The only two things I did differently is that I did add peas and along with topping it with Parmesan, I also added Italian Panko. Please don't leave out the prepared mustard, it really adds a little zing to it. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
WOW is all i can say!! I did as the other comments said and used less milk and cheese so it wouldn't be too saucy. I put a 1 1/4 cups of milk, 2 cups of cheese, and a little less of a 1/4 cup of flour and i used whole wheat flour. I didn't have colby so i used cheddar which turned out awesome anyway. I added dill weed and used Dijon like some of the comments suggested. After i boiled the pasta i let it cool and i cooked some carrots, broccoli, and, celery separately and added it to the pasta and ham before i added the sauce. Then after i added the sauce i added fresh spinach. Like i said before i used cheddar instead of Colby and topped it with freshly grated mozzarella instead since i didn't have any Parmesan. It came out BEAUTIFUL first of all.. Second it tasted very good. I was glad i added the veggies though because it is pretty rich from the cheese. Next time i'll add more seasoning though. 1/8 ts of pepper wasn't enough spice for me. The last thing i did differently was i LIGHTLY sprayed the bottom of the dish with Pam cooking spray and when i took it out it came out of the pan CLEAN. I'm thinking of adding green onion as a topper along with the cheese next time too. Overall very good! I don't like ham much and my SO doesn't either BUT we loved it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
A little bland. I used Medium cheddar instead of Colby, but it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States