Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is a family favorite. SO easy and SO delicious! I usually use sharp cheddar because I always have it on hand -- same with the cubed ham. The only addition I've made is I brown panko bread crumbs & some parmesan cheese together until they are golden brown & sprinkle over the top before putting into the oven. My 4-yr-old calls them "crispy crumbs" and that's the only way he'll eat mac & cheese. This is truly a comfort food recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWALWORTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This came out exceptionally well. I made this last night for my parents, sister, and grandmother and they all loved it. I got rewarded by being selected to cook meals for the fam more often. Only 3 slight changes. 1) Add frozen peas 2) Cube the ham instead of jullienning it and 3) use chedar cheese instead of colby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I tweeked it abit. I added green peppers, tomatoes, and onion to the garlic. Instead of using ham I chopped up some summer sausage and added it to the cheese mixture while I was waiting for my macaroni to cook. I also finly crumbed uop about 10 Ritz crackers and added it to the parmesan cheese then baked it like normal. Everyone loved it. I will be adding this to our routine in meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
my kids LOVED this recipe. I'm not a large fan of ham or cheese, but even i have to admit this was fairly good. I did change a couple of things. I used marble cheese instead of colby as that is what i had on hand, i added extra ham and more pasta. I actually ended up almost doubling the whole recipe to feed everyone. Instead of just the grated parmesan on top, i melted 2 tbsp of butter, added about 2 cups of coarse bread crumbs, 1 cup shredded marble and 1/2 cup parmesan and spread it over the top to bake. It gave it a nice crunchy topping that my kids were fighting over. My very picky kids loved this so much, they even ate it as leftovers (a rarity in my home), so this is a definite keeper and a 5 stars from me! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Granted, this was just macaroni and cheese with ham, but it was pretty darn tasty! I used a heaping teaspoon of garlic and also probably about 3 cups of cheese total (cleaning out the fridge). Served with green beans for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
YUM! This is really good, and a kid pleaser! Ham, Mac and Cheese....how could you go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe for the whole family. My kids consistently clean their plates when we have this dish. I use penne pasta instead of bowties and usually double the recipe with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is okay. Nothing to write home about. I didn't care for the mustard garlic combo. Kids ate some but it just wasn't a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was very, very good. Even my husband, who doesn't like ham, liked this. I did, however, tweak it a little. I added onion with my garlic to caramelize them just a bit, added peas, used jalapeño jack instead of colby, and omitted the mustard. We both were sneaking bites out of the pan before dinner! Thank you Stephndon for giving me a wonderful way to use up my easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasted very similar to home-made macaroni and cheese with ham. Very yummy. I also cut the pasta to the amount our family normally eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States