Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Ok, I did this a lot differently. First of all, you should probably add more pasta if you don't want too much of the sauce. I omitted the mustard. I added 1 cup colby and 1/1/2 cup mozzarella and then salt, pepper and italian seasonings. Oh ya, and peas. Was a great dish, will definately make again. This is a good recipe to keep around just for the fact that you can do so much with it(use it as a base). Maybe add chicken or turkey and/or french cut green beans next time. Maybe top it off with some sliced cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
We had a big ham for Christmas with lots of leftovers to use up. This recipe had all the ingredients that my family loves, ham, cheese, noodles, garlic, I mean what’s not to like? And the added bonus was that I had all the ingredients on hand. Which meant no trip needed to the grocery store! Gotta love that! I followed the recipe exactly as stated and it turned out really yummy! Cheesy, gooey, and warm on a cold, stormy, winter night! Served with a big green salad. Will serve with some rolls next time too. My husband’s only complaint was that it was a tad salty. So the next time I make this I won’t add salt to the pasta water when I cook the noodles, and I won’t be adding any salt to the recipe. The Parmesan cheese and ham provide more than enough salt for this dish. One added bonus about this recipe is that while the noodles are cooking you can make up the sauce and slice the ham; then while the dish is baking in the oven you have just enough time to clean up the dirty pan from the sauce, tidy up the kitchen, set the table and toss the salad; then after dinner there’s only the casserole dish, the dinner plates and utensils to wash up! Nice! Thanks for sharing this recipe! We’ll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some leftover ham and came across this one...glad I did! The whole family (3 kids) enjoyed it and wanted seconds...and THAT doesn't happen often! I followed the recipe with the exception of using whole wheat pasta, dijon instead of reg. mustard, and a colby/jack blend of cheese. Next time, I'll be doubling the recipe. We'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
I used dijon mustard and added a tablespoon of dillweed. Substituted the colby cheese (too mild for my tastes) with a mix of cheeses: 1 cup Extra Sharp orange cheddar, 3/4 cup monterey jack, and 3/4 cup mozerella. Topped with a mix of bread crumbs and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Everyone liked this recipe, and in our house, that's saying something! I left the prepared mustard out, and when we reheat (I double the recipe so we have leftovers), I add milk to make the sauce creamy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe. My whole family loved it. It cooked up perfectly (just make sure you follow the instructions carefully to insure your white sauce turns out properly). I added some grated cheddar and bread crumbs to the parmesan topping and I included a little sharp cheddar and cayenne to the casserole to spice it up a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
A very good recipe and this is a mild cheese flavored sauce. Use some cheddar if you want to zip it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My husband and I really liked this. I used 1 1/2 cup mozzarella and a cup of an Italian cheese blend in place of the colby. I used 12 oz of elbow pasta and added peas and a dash of cayenne pepper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Spectacular dish! I added a sprig (not a leaf but a whole sprig) of fresh, minced basil and about a tablespoon of Italian Seasoning. It was wonderful! I also took the suggestion of one of the raters and used a cup of colby and a cup and a half of mozzerella for the sauce. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was delicious! I needed to use up some leftover ham and this was the perfect recipe. I used 16 ounces of pasta rather than just 8 and there was plenty of sauce to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States