Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was easy to make and very tasty. I took it to some friends for dinner and they loved it. I kept a small amount for my husband, who loved it as well. Definitely a keeper -- without ham, this would be a great vegetarian dish as well. Creamy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very basic, not bad at all. Accidentally dumped more pepper than I intended to (probably about a teaspoon?) and I'm glad I did - it needed a kick. Used cheese I had handy, which was some leftover mexican blend and italian blend - I like the combo very much. Also sprinkled some crushed ritz cracker crumbs on top with a few dabs of butter. Nice, cool evening comfort food! A mess to clean up afterwards, however, with 3 pans to clean, plus utensils, etc., but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very tasty and quite simple to put together.... I love making mac & cheese recipes at home because you have complete control over the ingredients. Believe me, restaurants use heart stopping, artery clogging amounts of butter and cheese. I agree that the ratio of pasta to sauce is a bit off... you'll want to use at least 12 oz. of bowties. Also, I used a couple of teaspoons of Dijon mustard and a few splashes of hot sauce to suit our taste. Served this with fresh green beans for a hearty and delicious meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The dish is pretty good. I added sweet peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We all liked it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used 4 cups rotini. The only complaint was my garlic mincer was missing so I crushed it myself and some people got chunks of garlic which is more than they like. I think garlic is a good addition but I'll maybe use less or mince it better next time. We all went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
very basic cheese sauce without a ton of flavor. i added broccoli and honestly this was my favorite part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
A-MAZING! Left out the mustard just b/c I don't like it & used canadian bacon b/c it was on hand, but I can't imagine the dish being any better than it was. Creamy & delicious w/a little garlic kick...Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Added more pasta, ham and a can of small peas. Left out the parm and didn't bake. Not bad for Easter ham leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was just a little above OK. I wish I'd used cheddar cheese, Colby is too mild in a dish like this. I could not taste the mustard either and would double or triple it next time. Or use dried mustard in that amount. I think the amount of saltiness in this dish is greatly affected by the type of ham used. I used deli ham and omitted all the salt (from water and recipe) and it was a little under-salted to me. For no reason I can quite determine, this sauce was a little thicker than I wanted it to be when it came time to stir in the noodles; I would reduce the flour/butter roux to 3 and 3 next time to suit my own preferences. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
very tasty. didnt have bow tie so I sub with elbow macaroni. I used 12oz of elbow just like another reviewer suggested. other than that i followed the recipe exact and it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States