Ham and Cheese Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
WOW is all i can say!! I did as the other comments said and used less milk and cheese so it wouldn't be too saucy. I put a 1 1/4 cups of milk, 2 cups of cheese, and a little less of a 1/4 cup of flour and i used whole wheat flour. I didn't have colby so i used cheddar which turned out awesome anyway. I added dill weed and used Dijon like some of the comments suggested. After i boiled the pasta i let it cool and i cooked some carrots, broccoli, and, celery separately and added it to the pasta and ham before i added the sauce. Then after i added the sauce i added fresh spinach. Like i said before i used cheddar instead of Colby and topped it with freshly grated mozzarella instead since i didn't have any Parmesan. It came out BEAUTIFUL first of all.. Second it tasted very good. I was glad i added the veggies though because it is pretty rich from the cheese. Next time i'll add more seasoning though. 1/8 ts of pepper wasn't enough spice for me. The last thing i did differently was i LIGHTLY sprayed the bottom of the dish with Pam cooking spray and when i took it out it came out of the pan CLEAN. I'm thinking of adding green onion as a topper along with the cheese next time too. Overall very good! I don't like ham much and my SO doesn't either BUT we loved it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
A little bland. I used Medium cheddar instead of Colby, but it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as it was instructed in the recipe, but I think it was just okay. The flavor was fine, nothing special, but it seemed a little too dry to me. The cheese sauce was actually kind of pasty, not creamy. If I try this again, I will leave out the flour, or add more milk, to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I had some leftover ham from Xmas, of course. I added about 2 tablespoons of tabasco and a little parmesan to the cheese mixture. Not too saucy, just right! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaska
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
My FAVORITE go-to meal for all ages!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe to use up leftover ham. However, I doubled the pasta and ham and the still had a LOT of extra sauce. Quick and easy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The sauce tastes great - it just makes way too much! Double the pasta and it'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was easy to make and very tasty. I took it to some friends for dinner and they loved it. I kept a small amount for my husband, who loved it as well. Definitely a keeper -- without ham, this would be a great vegetarian dish as well. Creamy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very basic, not bad at all. Accidentally dumped more pepper than I intended to (probably about a teaspoon?) and I'm glad I did - it needed a kick. Used cheese I had handy, which was some leftover mexican blend and italian blend - I like the combo very much. Also sprinkled some crushed ritz cracker crumbs on top with a few dabs of butter. Nice, cool evening comfort food! A mess to clean up afterwards, however, with 3 pans to clean, plus utensils, etc., but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very tasty and quite simple to put together.... I love making mac & cheese recipes at home because you have complete control over the ingredients. Believe me, restaurants use heart stopping, artery clogging amounts of butter and cheese. I agree that the ratio of pasta to sauce is a bit off... you'll want to use at least 12 oz. of bowties. Also, I used a couple of teaspoons of Dijon mustard and a few splashes of hot sauce to suit our taste. Served this with fresh green beans for a hearty and delicious meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States