Ham and Butternut Squash Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by taylor_prulhiere
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I've made this recipe over 5 times. Just like many others, I changed/added a couple ingredients. Sour cream makes a great substitution for the mascarpone and tastes exactly the same (made it both ways). Make sure to have plenty of veggies to add and personalize (mushrooms, bell peppers, baby corn, spinach, etc.) Sometimes you might have to add a little more chicken broth depending on how much butternut squash you use. Let the sauce boil a little and then simmer near the end to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I've never tasted Mascarpone before, but I substituted with 8oz cream cheese, 2 tbsp butter and 4 tbsp of heavy cream. I think it'd taste deliciously acceptable with anything similar. While I certainly recommend following Chef John's recipe if possible, don't hesitate if you don't have Mascarpone. It's a fine recipe either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Buckley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe is so good! I doubled my garlic. I omitted the red pepper flakes and used shells instead for my pasta. The shells were amazing in the sauce and this tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I'm an Arabic - Southern Bell, if you can wrap your mind around that concept, and I love all kinds of food. Chef John - you are out of line! First, when the ham and fresh garlic slices are cookin' up, OMG the fragrance! I just wanted to eat that! This is so ridiculous! Everything is perfection and not hard to make! I followed the recipe to the T! Did not change a thing although I questioned the amount broth, not sure if it was enough, but as you said - it was. The texture of the sauce at the end is amazing, creamy but not thick, dry but super moist and it just rests on the pasta with MAD FLAVA - so perfect! That Marscapone, cheese butter - butter cheese - MANDTORY! Gotta have it, the deal maker ingredient! Worth finding it! Thank you so much for schooling me on this ridiculous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dustyy Lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Awesome recipe! DH wants less chicken broth, more mascapone. I left out the spices and salt so we could share with our 1 year old and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The picture doesn't look that appetizing to me, but this dish was surprisingly delicious!! I added extra ham and made a homemade mascarpone cheese sauce (recipe found on Allrecipes)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Everything was fine until the mascarpone cheese. Once that was added the flavor was so terrible that I couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynika Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Excellent! The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Loved it. The next time I made it I substituted the ham for chicken and the squash for peas and carrots. I also added onion with the garlic and served it over rice. It was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Quite amazed at this recipe. It was really tasty. I swapped the ham for salami (with less in the extra salt). The children ate it all up. My husband said he was surprised that it went together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My husband and I loved this creative combo. We followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States