Ham and Brussels Sprout Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is a list of ingredients that I would never have come up with on my own, but I'm so glad to have found this recipe! Great way to use left-over ham without a lot of potatoes or pasta; just veggies. I didn't have sauerkraut on hand the first time so substituted some shredded cabbage. The second time I just skipped it. I found that you can use significantly less oil (like half) without changing the flavor or consistency. I would suggest decreasing the cooking time a little to prevent the Brussels sprouts from getting mushy. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delish!!! I made this with a few changes. I left out the sauerkraut, doubled the ham, halfed the oil and only baked for 35 minutes. It came out perfect! My entire family loved it, including by picky 5 year old. I served this with sourdough bread and a fruit salad. Excellent! Definitely making this again but will have to make more because there just wasn't enough for everyone to have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I rarely rate recipes I try here. But this one I felt compelled. I loved it. I am not a big fan of Brussels sprouts but am trying to learn. This made me a believer. I followed the recipe pretty closely but followed other recommendations and halved the oil, doubled the ham and sauerkraut. I didn't have asiago cheese so I just used Parmesan. I also used more bread crumbs on top but used pinko bread crumbs for extra crunch and put a little extra cheese in the with bread crumbs. I baked for 35 minutes. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I'm not a fan of Brussels sprouts but my husband likes them so I've been trying new recipes. We both really liked this one! In fact, I've made this dish twice in the past three weeks. It's very flavorful and baking the sprouts with the ham, olive oil and herbs tones down their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This had such a strange mixture of ingredients I had to try it. Believe it or not, it's delicious! I will definitely make it again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is really a phenomenal recipe. The lemon juice is the "secret ingredient" giving it a nice bright flavor with this acid. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I left out the sauerkraut, and this was still amazing! All the flavors combine just perfectly. I'm sure it's fantastic with the sauerkraut, I just thought that might be pushing it a little too far for my family :-). I used frozen sprouts, because they'd been in my freezer for awhile. What a great way to salvage those poor overlooked veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steviferg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was delicious! I bought ham for making sandiches, which when cut up is rather slim. This would be a good dish with cubes of ham. I sauteed the mushrooms before combining with the other ingredients. I doubled the recipe, but it seemed it was a little oily, so perhaps I"ll use less oil next time. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Gould Lawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is delicious, as a side dish or main dish! It was great as is. The flavors meld together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States