Ham and Broccoli Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was my second quiche in as many weeks as I am trying to use up the last of my leftover frozen Christmas ham. It was incredibly easy to prepare and went over well with my husband. My son was less enthusiastic, eating the crust and picking out the ham to eat but leaving all of the eggs and broccoli. Overall I think I prefer spinach to broccoli in my quiche, but this was also an interesting way to use up frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Lowered the fat content by substituting 1 boiled medium potato (mashed and mixed into the milk) for 1/2 cup of the cheese. Also, like several others, I used blanched fresh broccoli florets. I added 1 tsp dried chives for a little onion flavor. As a topping, I put on sauteed 1/2 medium onion (chopped) plus 1 clove of garlic (finely chopped) before baking the quiche. The quiche was delicious. [Note: with the added potato, I couldn't fit a little of the liquid mixture into the quiche. Made delicious scrambled egg!] Someone mentioned that it seemed like 4 eggs might be too much, but it's about right. This recipe uses milk instead of cream, so it needs a little extra binder. I'll try 3 eggs next time and let you know if it still sets up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe is perfectly divine. And quick and easy. I used a Tenderflake pie crust and prepared the dish in the tinfoil pie plate it comes in. I used some left over spiral ham I had in the fridge and substituted the broccoli for 1 cup of fresh asparagus. (I sautéed the asparagus with onions for just a few minutes before adding to the pie plate). The rest I followed exactly as suggested. It's perfect in every way and I've never made a quiche before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. Very good, although it took a bit longer than 45 minutes to cook. Swiss cheese is something new to me. I'll definitely make this again and perhaps include/swap out some other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used fresh steamed broccoli florets. Bake time 45-50 minutes. Cover edges with foil and also put foil on top the last 20 minutes or the cheese will brown...unless you like a crispy top! Also made it in a casserole dish so all the liquid stayed in it...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This quiche was excellent. I used fresh broccoli that I steamed first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This recipe is not as involved as other quiche recipes, but still delicious! I used fresh blanched broccoli florets and, as other reviewers suggested, made sure they were squeezed dry. I also brushed on egg white as others suggested, and did not have a problem with mushiness. I made this for a potluck brunch and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very good recipe. I've had problems in the past with quiche not setting up well. This recipe set perfectly! I had fresh broccoli on hand so blanched it prior to adding to quiche. Worked well with great color. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I substituted steamed fresh broccoli and shredded Mexican 4-cheese mix because we were out of frozen broccoli and Swiss cheese. It was a bit more "eggy" than a typical quiche, but my husband and the neighbor who was helping him with pole barn construction, liked it. I didn't use the dry mustard powder, but will add it and use the Swiss cheese next time since it was a bit bland without those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Very good. Used 1/2 cups of fresh broccoli cut up small instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States