Ham and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If I could I would give this 4 & 1/2 stars. I save 5 stars for super exceptional stuff. My husband loved this and I have to say it was quite good. First I used regular linguini pasta instead of whole wheat rotini. I used 1 (10 oz) container of Buitoni regular alfredo sauce and 1 (10 oz) container of Buitoni light alfredo sauce from the cold case at the grocery store. I have used the jarred varieties of alfredo sauce before and have never been satisfied with the taste of any of them so I thought I would try the more fresh version. I personally think that it was hands down much better than the jarred. I upped the milk to 3/4 cup intead of 1/2 and used 16 ozs of pasta. Then I used Kraft 2% Colby Jack Monterey but used 2 cups so it was a little cheesier. I found the recipe easy to follow and quick to put together. Definetely a keeper. In the future I will make it with shrimp or chicken as well as the ham. Thanks for sharing the recipe mrs. embee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
good, used less pasta and more milk as there was not quite enough alfredo just a little salt as the ham was the cola ham from Easter with the grapejuice on it! boys liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe was great! I changed it though - I used 16 oz of Garden Rotini; I added 2 cups of Velveta to the Alfredo instead of the shredded cheese; I sauteed the ham in olive oil with half an onion chopped, 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning; I used a 12oz bag of microwave in the bag Broccoli. I also didn't bake it, I just threw all the cooked items in a pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen82383

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had some leftover ham in the freezer from Easter, so thought this sounded like an easy, comforting dish. I made my own cheese sauce with half chicken broth, half 2% milk, and some sharp cheese along with the Colby-Jack. This was surprisingly good, and fast. I will keep this one and maybe try leftover chicken next time. Thank you mrsembee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a great way to get rid of leftover ham from Christmas, as well as some unused monterey jack cheese I had bought for cheese & crackers. My very picky boyfriend even liked it! This will definitely become a repeat dish at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good recipe! This was super easy to make. I used fresh broccoli because I had it on hand. I used 3 cups of ham because I wanted to use it all up. The 15 oz jar of Alfredo was plenty, I filled the jar with the milk and shook it and poured it that way into the pan. (Alfredo sauce you seem to waste a lot it get's left over in the jar) Very Good we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good and easy. Great way to use leftover ham. I changed sauce choice to more suit our family taste and added basil and mint while browning the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkcurmudgeon

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Abilene, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I usually save the left overs for my husband, but this was so yummy, I had to have them. :) Like someone else said, I also recommend using Bertolli alfredo sauce. I also used paramasean instead of colby-monterey jack, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessiey Siney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Don't use chicken instead of ham. I've made this twice; the ham adds salt that is needed. With chicken this was bland. With ham, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
We really enjoyed the taste of this dish, I do think it was a little dry in the end and would probably add more alfredo or less pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States