Ham and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
It is entirely too SWEET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
YUM!! I grew up with ham & beans, but my dad's recipe was always so bland. I had no idea the secret ingredient was brown sugar, but that makes perfect sense! I'm going to pass this recipe on to him, now... I can't wait to eat these leftovers! My husband really liked this recipe, too, and he has never had ham & beans before. Thanks for an easy and fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard DeYoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I used 2 jars of great northern, 1/4 cup of brown sugar...I would have never thought of the brown sugar, it adds really nice flavor. Cup some celery. Good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
We did not like this recipe, it was too sweet for us. We will try it again without the brown sugar and see how it turns out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Too sweet as written.... I made it a second time cutting the sugar in half and added a clove of garlic and some diced carrots & celery, 1/2 cup each and added a pinch of baking soda to make the texture more creamy and liked it better the second time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
We loved it!! I didn't have any Cayenne pepper, so I subsisted that with 1/4 Chili powder and 1/4 of Smoked Paprika. It turned out to be quite yummy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was delicious! My mom was supposed to make her ham and beans for dinner tonight but she was sick so we stayed home...but I was still craving it! I did the quick soak method for the beans (rinse, boil for 2 mins, cover and take off heat. Let sit for 1 hour, rinse and begin normal recipe). It turned out wonderfully. I did the 1T brown sugar and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne plus 1/2t of baking soda. My husband and I practically inhaled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Creech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great recipe. However, I did make a few minor changes. I added 2 jalapeños in place of the cayenne pepper, one leek in place of the onion and I added a whole ham hock and laid it on top of the beans while cooking. Once cooking was complete, I diced the ham hock into bite sized pieces. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luther Ham Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States