Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is awsome. Best ham and beans I have ever had. Very flavorful. The ony thing I did different on the recipe is used all chicken stock instead of water and I didn't use the bay leave instead added a 1/2 tsp ground temeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
WOW, the flavors in this dish really really rocks. I was a bit worried going through the steps of cooking the meats then adding to the pot, but it totally works when you add the chicken stock to the pan to deglaze it and add to the slow cooker pot. One thing is at this point I worried because it said to crisp up meat, then add stock to deglaze, but wasn't sure if I should drain off the excess grease. But because it didn't say so, I poured all the grease and chicken stock right in to the pot. And I must say Delish. The broth was just nicely flavored, and the overwhelming leek flavor mellowed in the cooking process. I did a few things but didn't change the recipe at all other then using fresh parsley instead of dried. I also put a finer chop on the onions and the leeks due to my hubby's prefence of not having larger chunks in this. He's not much of an onion person but likes the flavor just not texture of eating onions. Plus I used low sodium, bacon, broth and cooked ham. Will make this again because it really puts that warms in your bones. Just a lovely inviting dish. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the first time I've made ham and beans with out hocks. It was very good. The texture and flavors were great. I made the recipe just as stated, no variations at all. Served with bread for dipping, we have leftovers and they are even better heated up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Love this recipe..I used 2 cloves fresh garlic chopped and added 1/4 tsp. of celery seed...otherwise kept it as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this twice, used crushed garlic both times. I followed this recipe closely except for the chopped ham, I used a large piece of ham leftover from Easter Dinner with the bone. This soup came out with lots of flavor and one of my husbands new favorites ! You do need to smash the beans at the end with a potato masher. It was delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These beans are awesome. Followed the recipe exactly. My teen (picky eater) ate 4 bowls!!! Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Flavor wise this is a 10, but it does produce a very thin soup. I used all chicken broth and eliminated the bacon (since I had a bit extra ham to use up) but followed the rest of the ingredients. I forgot to soak the beans last night, so I followed instructions in another recipe so we could have today. I ended up adding two additional cans of reduced sodium white beans (after rinsing throughly) to bring the consistency more to our liking. Next time (and ther will be a next time soon), I'll start with more beans to begin with. Excelent recipe flavorwise - thought my Grandma had prepared it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a keeper! Iahve tried many ham and bean soups - never been terribly impressed with any of them. This was delicious. I think the bason and sauteing the ham REALLY make it. Had trouble cooking the beans all the way, but I seem to have this issue a lot. Next time I might try cooking the beans in plain water for a while first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A little bland for us as written. I added some jalapeno and real minced garlic with the other veggies. Also added some tabasco and a little cider vinegar towards the end of cooking. We enjoyed this over plain white rice, similar to a red bean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was a delicious, easy soup! I made it with a few changes, but nothing major. (Skipped the leeks and small onion adding 1/4 c dried onion instead...my daughter hates finding onions in things though she likes the flavor and I've found using dried onion is perfect and soooo easy.) I did chop the bacon THEN fry it up, THEN I cooked the ham in the bacon grease left in the pan adding a little butter and evoo for flavoring. Oh, and I accidentally forgot the parsley. This is a definite keeper imo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States