Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was good. I used ham stock instead of water and left out the leeks. I used bacon bits for the bacon. My main problem was my cubed ham pretty much disintegrated. Next time I will add it an hour or so before serving. It needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My sister & I fought over the last of the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Outstanding! Followed recipe exactly. Even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe, Roxanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
this was fantastic my husband is not a big soup eater but he loved this,and so did my father inlaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
good, good, great, wonderful, delicious!!! we loved this---i work nights, so i whipped it up and into the slow cooker before i went to bed in the morning, woke up, did errands, and had a fantastic dinner waiting for me and the hubby! I served this with crusty Italian bread and a simple salad---this will be a frequent meal at our house; thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I've made Ham and Bean Soup for many years. It's one of my all time favorite soups. This is a great recipe. To "kick it up a bit", I add a large can of petite diced tomatoes and allow it to simmer. A bowl of soup and a slice of crusty buttermilk cornbread makes for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is amazing and I didn't even add bacon! I used ham boullion instead of chicken. I could hardly stop eating!! *****UPDATE*****This time I added a splash of apple cider vinegar and 1 diced, seeded jalapeno pepper and served it over rice. Woweee, this is way beyond delicious!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are in a hurry, use 2 cans drained Great Northern beans. Saute your veggies and ham. Then add the remaining ingredients and boil about 20-30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was very good. I increased the cumin to 1 tsp and left out the bacon (didn't have any). I sauted the onions, celery and leeks before putting them in the crock pot. Decreased the water by 1 cup. I like my soup on the thicker side. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Very good - pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These beans are awesome. Followed the recipe exactly. My teen (picky eater) ate 4 bowls!!! Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States