Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good. No chicken broth, use ham brot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Awesome flavor. I used Knorrs stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Fantastic. A keeper I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Mostly used the recipe as stated, except that I left out the bacon and used three cloves fresh garlic in place of the garlic powder. I added a little basil and red cayenne pepper. I only used the 4 cups chicken broth (no water), and the thickness seemed great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was delicious! The whole family really liked it and it made the house smell soo good while it cooked all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved! Very picky eater husband loved it, too. It's a bit of prep, but worth it. There was a bit too much to fit in my Crock Pot so I cooked it on the range about three hours or so. Perhaps that is why I did not find the soup to be thin, because it did reduce on the stove a bit. I did drain the bacon grease off before adding the chicken broth to deglaze the skillet. And, I used a big ham bone and chunk of ham from a spiral cut honey ham....and at the end I added a very little splash of vinegar to balance the flavor. Everything else just as the recipe described and it was terrific. Will DEFINITELY make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Awesome! What a great flavor. To keep it a little healthier I used Grape Seed oil instead of olive oil and used Almond Butter instead of butter. I also added 3 cloves of chopped garlic and some extra spices. I also had to cook mine 10 hours to get the beans tender. A definite winner and will make many times and always have some stored in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I am going to try this recipe tomorrow but I have never cooked leeks. So, thats it, just cut off the roots and leaves and then one slice down the middle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekennedy4908

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Cumin makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made the first time with ham but used all water to cook then added some Penzey's ham base after beans got soft and let it cook another hour or so. Used turkey bacon. Recently made again but skipped the leeks. Instead caramelized a very large onion and subbed in the dark meat from this PR ***http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/62472514/smoked-turkey-without-smoker/detail.aspx*** Also delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States