Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! Followed recipe as written (I added 2 more slices of bacon than called for) and it was super delicious. My husband and I finished off the entire crock pot of soup in just 2 days!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anshirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've always struggled with getting the right rich taste from ham & beans without a flavor packet. This was SPOT ON! I had already started the recipe with beans, ham and water realizing that maybe it was too late to do anything but salt it and move on. But when I found this recipe, I simply added the garlic, chopped onion, olive oil, chopped celery and cumin and WOW! Never knew it could be this easy and good! Will DEFINITELY do this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't mash the beans and am making it in a few days with some leftover baked ham. We shall see.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent! Only thing I did different was to omit the bay leaves and I added a smoked turkey wing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I never thought I'd ever say I would enjoy eating Ham and Beans...but I love this recipe. I only made a couple simple changes. I used 1/2lb Great Northern Beans and 1/2lb black eye peas. Then, I used chicken Better Than Bouillion instead of water like someone else suggested. It was very tasty. My hubby enjoyed 3 bowls and my children enjoyed it with a dallop of sour cream. It will be our new New Year's dinner tradition paired up with fresh corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good. No chicken broth, use ham brot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Awesome flavor. I used Knorrs stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Fantastic. A keeper I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Mostly used the recipe as stated, except that I left out the bacon and used three cloves fresh garlic in place of the garlic powder. I added a little basil and red cayenne pepper. I only used the 4 cups chicken broth (no water), and the thickness seemed great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States