Ham and Beans and More Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, but got lackluster results. The broth is fairly good, but the meat, beans and veggies are beyond blah. My bowl was slightly improved with 6-ish drops Sriracha. Bottom line: definitely not worth the work. I wish I hadn't wasted my bacon and ham on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious! Even without the bacon (only had ham at home). I was missing parsley so I subbed in basil, & celery so I subbed in celery seed. Since my bone broth gave it an unappealing grey colour I also added some turmeric. Didn't add as much water at the end, because it was great tasting right from the slow cooker. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I enjoyed this spin on the Traditional Ham and Beans I was used to. The celery added a subtle fresh background to the broth. I used fresh parsley instead of dried. Just a 1/2 bunch chopped up. And I added 2 Tbls. of Brown Sugar and a 1/2 tsp. of Liquid Hickory Smoke because I didn't have any Bacon. Turned out Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckfan69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williams, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a keeper. I cooked it on the stove. I added 12 baby carrots, added 1/2 tsp. turmeric, used 1/2 small ham chopped. I also used 8oz. pinto and 8oz. great northern beans. they was yummy. I found a new recipe. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! Followed recipe as written (I added 2 more slices of bacon than called for) and it was super delicious. My husband and I finished off the entire crock pot of soup in just 2 days!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anshirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've always struggled with getting the right rich taste from ham & beans without a flavor packet. This was SPOT ON! I had already started the recipe with beans, ham and water realizing that maybe it was too late to do anything but salt it and move on. But when I found this recipe, I simply added the garlic, chopped onion, olive oil, chopped celery and cumin and WOW! Never knew it could be this easy and good! Will DEFINITELY do this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I don't mash the beans and am making it in a few days with some leftover baked ham. We shall see.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent! Only thing I did different was to omit the bay leaves and I added a smoked turkey wing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I never thought I'd ever say I would enjoy eating Ham and Beans...but I love this recipe. I only made a couple simple changes. I used 1/2lb Great Northern Beans and 1/2lb black eye peas. Then, I used chicken Better Than Bouillion instead of water like someone else suggested. It was very tasty. My hubby enjoyed 3 bowls and my children enjoyed it with a dallop of sour cream. It will be our new New Year's dinner tradition paired up with fresh corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States