Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Delicious recipe, I changed a couple of things. I used pinto beans instead its what I had and I added 1 tsp. brown sugar and 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper, it was hit in my family. I have made this a couple times already, it remains our favorite ham and bean soup. I did add chicken stock for some of the liquid. So goood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Great way to use leftover ham. My only change: substituted 2 cans vegetable broth (low salt)for some of the water and doubled up the vegetables. Even the teenagers ate this. Cooked on simmer all day - thickened nicely. Froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I loved this soup. It was SUper easy. I did double the amount of seasoning and added a couple of extra carrots. I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 6 hours. It was perfect for a chilly day and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have never made ham and bean soup before....this was so easy and delicious! Thickened up very nicely on its own as I simmered it for about 2 hours. I also added some ground mustard powder. Everyone loved it! Might try it in the crockpot next time! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Made this soup yesterday, and it tasted incredible. I did not find it in the least bland...I did however use the bag of 15 bean soup mix I had purchased instead of the navy beans, but not the seasoning it came with. I simply shook in a prodigious amount of the spices called for, plus a pinch of salt. A delicious soup, great with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Fantastic flavor!... but too much water. I will definitely make again, with only 2 or 3 quarts of water to start with. Chicken base was a good addition to flsvor the excess broth. Served with delicious "Savory Corn Muffins" from this site (minor changes-see review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Did as others suggested. Double spices, added more carrots and celery and substituted some of the water for chicken broth. I skipped step #2 as I left the soup cooking all day (not in crock pot, just on stove) and the ham eventually fell off the bone. Was absolutely delicious and a hit with the family. Even better than Mom's! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This came out awesome although I felt it needed something so I added chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Absolutely the best tasting soup. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Now this is a fantastic bean soup recipe. I loved it! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting. Wait! I did use great northern beans instead of navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States