Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe is amazing. The soup came out perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
As other reviewers noted, I also replaced most of the water with chicken broth. I also added two cans of navy beans as I thought it was thin and needed more and didn't have time to wait to soak more beans. I ran one can through the food processor and just added the other can as is. I added more carrots and celery and instead of slicing them as I did the other veggies, I chopped them in the food processor. After adding more spices including some bacon salt, I ended up with a great soup. Really good and a huge batch of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
As others suggested, I replaced most of the water with broth for extra flavor. Added additional spices, was bland with the spices called for in the recipe. I soaked my beans for 10 hours, and I had to simmer them for about 45 minutes before they were soft enough to add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Im not a big fan. It was far to bland and i was way liberal with the spice. Having said this i do prefer my food spicy so to each there own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Excellent gluten free dairy free meal that feeds a lot! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I also had to change a couple of small things but my 9 year old loved it and it freezes great. This was a very tasty filling soup. Great for cold nights served with warm fresh bread. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janathome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mmmmmmm. I didn't think it was gonna turn out that good, but to my suprise, it was DELICOUS! I used part chicken broth for the water, and only used 3 qts of water, and kept adding water till the beans were soft. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i think this might be the best soup I've ever made .. and I've made quite a few soups. I simmered my ham bone for a couple hours in the water with half an onion and a couple bay leaves, peppercorns too. I also added some rosemary. Absolutely delicious .. you will not be dissapointed with this one. Even my eleven year old daughter who is not a soup fan ate a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
VERY EASY! VERY HEARTY! VERY YUMMY! I always make split pea soup with left over ham but this time I tried this navy bean soup recipe. Well, this is my new go-to recipe. No more split pea, this is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. It disappeared! Absolutely fantastic. I did soak the beans longer than overnight - about 16 hours - and it was perfect! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States