Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
OMG....this is a wonderful soup for a cold day. I did bake the ham first(smoked ham hock) the night before then boiled it the next day, used canned beans(because I had them in the cupboard) mashing 1 can and leaving the others whole also added a bay leaf and that's about it. Definately give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy L. Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I'm not a big Bean Soup fan, but I made this because I had a ham bone in the freezer. My husband, parents and neighbors all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnd93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
First attempt at Ham and Bean Soup and had to pour a lot of the water out of this to get close to the consistency in the picture. Could use a little pick me up in taste, so may add a little hot sauce to the leftovers, but a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is almost the same as we've made for years. VERY GOOD.... but one trick we've found is to either add a 1/2 bag of lima beans to the others, or a can of butter beans drained and smushed. It makes the soup thicker and creamier.... especially if you're in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Just like my mom would make it. However I put hot & spicy ketchup and Tapatio hot sauce on the top to serve. Just like mom told us too. Gives it a sweet hot taste for the ones who like it kicked up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Watty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made the mistake of adding ham base for more flavor, when reheating leftovers it was too salty. I also added a large baking potato, diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Best ever and vey easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Tasteless. I followed recipe to the "T" and after tasting had to add salt, pepper, garlic salt, cayenne pepper and still had little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Just like Mom used to make! Tastes wonderful. I used smoked ham (no ham bone) and tripled the amount of everything. Also used Lima, White Northern, and Pinto beans instead. Definitely worthy of some cornbread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
excellent soup .. I added a few more carrots and added a pinch of sea salt .. its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States