Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is by far the best ham and bean soup I have ever had. Before tasting this, I could take it or leave it. Now I find myself looking forward to another bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made one change used a mixed bag of dried beans instead of all navy beans. Turned out pretty close to what my grandmother use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was so good! I cooked the beans and ham in 3 cups of broth, along with a bay leaf and peppercorns in a Dutch oven until the beans were almost soft. Then I put the beans, diced ham, veggies, 2 diced garlic cloves, 1 tsp brown sugar, 1 tsp paprika and crushed black pepper in a crockpot where it cooked all day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Did as others suggested. Double spices, added more carrots and celery and substituted some of the water for chicken broth. I skipped step #2 as I left the soup cooking all day (not in crock pot, just on stove) and the ham eventually fell off the bone. Was absolutely delicious and a hit with the family. Even better than Mom's! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This soup is pretty good and I would highly recommend including the vegetable broth. Make sure you start cooking the beans in the morning as it takes alll day to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had to doctor this up because it was too bland. I would suggest less water and then add more as needed. It turned out too soupy, so I cooked it for quite a few hours to get it to reduce. I added 2 chicken boullion cubes, a bay leaf, sage, real garlic and used smoked paprika instead of reg. paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
O----------M-------G!!!!!!!...Awesome!....I had a left over ham bone with ham still on it and some dried Great Northern beans...I made this and the house smelled like heaven all afternoon...The taste even matched the Heavenly smell....This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Now this is a fantastic bean soup recipe. I loved it! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting. Wait! I did use great northern beans instead of navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this soup and it turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly and added a few ingredients of my own. I put in crushed fresh garlic with the vegetables and added two bay leaves. I run a small kitchen and it was the soup of the day. People loved it. Will become a regular item on my menu. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this recipe with some changes: using 2 cans navy beans. 1 whole with juice and one rinsed, drained, and lighty mashed. Chicken broth instead of water, and no celery. I sauted the onions and carrots and added everything else, cooked for one hour, removed bone and added the meat back to the pot. Stirred and served. It was good for a quick throw together meal but it was lacking something. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder too and it was still lacking. Maybe a jalapeno would help? The soup was def better the next day after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States