Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i think this might be the best soup I've ever made .. and I've made quite a few soups. I simmered my ham bone for a couple hours in the water with half an onion and a couple bay leaves, peppercorns too. I also added some rosemary. Absolutely delicious .. you will not be dissapointed with this one. Even my eleven year old daughter who is not a soup fan ate a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
VERY EASY! VERY HEARTY! VERY YUMMY! I always make split pea soup with left over ham but this time I tried this navy bean soup recipe. Well, this is my new go-to recipe. No more split pea, this is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. It disappeared! Absolutely fantastic. I did soak the beans longer than overnight - about 16 hours - and it was perfect! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this soup today with some modifications and my wife enjoyed it so much she made 3 glowing compliments, which is highly unusual. Instead of garlic powder, I finely mince 4 cloves of garlic and added them along with 3 bay leaves when cooking the ham bones with 1/3 of the beans and 4 Wylers Boulion cubes. When I removed the ham bones I added additional chunked ham, white pepper instead of black pepper and 1/4 tsp of celery salt instead of the celery and a pinch of sea salt. I let it on a high simmer all day. I forgot the onions and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was just what i was craving. I cooked ham and beans all day in the crockpot, when almost done i mashed some and added double the veggies. PERFECTION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommydeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was wonderful. I've used a different recipe before and this one beats it hands down. Four quarts water seem a bit too much, though; I just used 2 quarts and used chicken stock for some of the water. Since the water amount was reduced by half for what the recipe called for, I did not need to increase the seasonings, as some reviews noted. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Fantastic! I used pinto beans and tried someones suggestion of adding cayenne pepper and brown sugar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is an easy and very tasty recipie. I used 3 quarts of water instead of 4 in my 5 quart stock pot, and the results were very good. I increased the veggie amounts by 1/3 and added 3 potatoes cubed. I will use this recipe after every ham I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Fantastic flavor!... but too much water. I will definitely make again, with only 2 or 3 quarts of water to start with. Chicken base was a good addition to flsvor the excess broth. Served with delicious "Savory Corn Muffins" from this site (minor changes-see review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
My Mom used to make this for me when I was little. I love it. Try it with ketchup on top! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMID80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States