Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used vegetable broth & added red potatoes & chopped cabbage. It was really tasty & great way to use up ham bone from Easter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this last night from a frozen leftover ham bone that was pretty meaty. It was wonderful!. I used a quart of chicken stock and very little water. That was the only change I made. So easy to make and my family loved it including my picky teenagers! I will make this again after Easter for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Way too much liquid. I put it in the crock pot all day and ended up taking a lot of liquid out before mashing it and it was still runny. It was quite bland too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Incredibly bland as written - but that's exactly what my mom used to make! I wanted something with some flavor, so I followed some adjustments from others and LOVED them. 4 carrots, 4 celery stalks, 3 cloves garlic (instead of powder), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp paprika, scant 1/8 tsp cayenne red pepper, 2 tbsp brown sugar. Used just water, no chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenTess
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is definitely the best I have ever made. I was never satisfied with my ham and beans before trying this recipe. The second time I made this, I thought it a little bland. I was on a tight schedule and was trying to hurry. My daughter asked me to make this for their dinner tonight and I didn't get to soak the beans. That started me off on the wrong foot. Anyway, after I tasted them, I left them to simmer on low and the next time I tasted them, they were great, just needed to simmer longer. My thanks to Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
what a disaster. I boiled the beans for 5 hours & they were still hard. No taste at all. I've been cooking for over 50 years, am pretty good at it, but this recipe did not work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it was great. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leucadialady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The recipe as is was bland and was had way too much water. I ended up making up a rue three times to thicken the soup enough to make it hearty (still not as thick as a chowder or cream soup). I though I'd blended a fair amount of beans too. I ended up adding way more seasoning, including salt, white pepper, mustard powder, and chicken bouillon cubes. I used a large leftover spiral ham bone with lots of meat attached. After much doctoring throughout the day, it ended up being the most delicious bean soup I've ever had. Thank you for getting me started on my own recipe. I'd suggest anyone trying this recipe to use half of the water to start; you can always add more later. Then adjust seasonings to your family tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Delicious and easy!! Took for ever to thicken for me. Next time gonna use less water. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
very good soup but i used 3 diff.kinds of beans,black beans pinto and northern....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States