Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Just like my mom would make it. However I put hot & spicy ketchup and Tapatio hot sauce on the top to serve. Just like mom told us too. Gives it a sweet hot taste for the ones who like it kicked up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Watty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made the mistake of adding ham base for more flavor, when reheating leftovers it was too salty. I also added a large baking potato, diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Best ever and vey easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Tasteless. I followed recipe to the "T" and after tasting had to add salt, pepper, garlic salt, cayenne pepper and still had little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Just like Mom used to make! Tastes wonderful. I used smoked ham (no ham bone) and tripled the amount of everything. Also used Lima, White Northern, and Pinto beans instead. Definitely worthy of some cornbread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
excellent soup .. I added a few more carrots and added a pinch of sea salt .. its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this for 85 people, was great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Started out using this recipe for soup and, like everyone else, made a few changes. Used navy beans that had been quick boiled according to the package. Drained them and then put in slow cooker with leftover meaty ham bone, carton of chicken broth, cup of finely diced onion, chunky chopped carrots and celery with leaves, two small bay leaves, garlic powder, black pepper, and enough water to finish filling cooker. Cooked on high for about 6 hours. After tasting, added some salt and more pepper, liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and more cut-up ham. Did not mash any beans to thicken, instead used flour/butter roux (sp?). Let it continue to cook on low for another hour or so to allow to thicken. Removed celery, carrots, and bay leaves before serving - just didn't grow up eating bean soup with carrots and celery in it. Served with corn bread. It was yummy! Hoping to have lots of leftovers for the week, but everyone enjoyed it and only have enough for one lefover bowl :-(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This soup is excellent! The only thing I added was a can of stewed tomatoes and a bay leaf! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This recipe was FABULOUS! Like other users, I made a few changes. I noticed that someone else had said that there weren't enough beans, so I used a pound and a half. It was the perfect amount. Also, instead of using all water, I used 6 cups of chicken broth (a big can) and the rest water. I also let the ham bone simmer in the broth for about 2 hours (w/ a bay leaf) before adding the beans. And finally, instead of finely chopping the onions, I pureed them in my mini chopper. That way, my kids didn't even notice they were there. :-) I omitted the celery. I didn't think it needed it. The whole family loved it! I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pappas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States