Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Just like Mom used to make! Tastes wonderful. I used smoked ham (no ham bone) and tripled the amount of everything. Also used Lima, White Northern, and Pinto beans instead. Definitely worthy of some cornbread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
excellent soup .. I added a few more carrots and added a pinch of sea salt .. its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made this for 85 people, was great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Started out using this recipe for soup and, like everyone else, made a few changes. Used navy beans that had been quick boiled according to the package. Drained them and then put in slow cooker with leftover meaty ham bone, carton of chicken broth, cup of finely diced onion, chunky chopped carrots and celery with leaves, two small bay leaves, garlic powder, black pepper, and enough water to finish filling cooker. Cooked on high for about 6 hours. After tasting, added some salt and more pepper, liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and more cut-up ham. Did not mash any beans to thicken, instead used flour/butter roux (sp?). Let it continue to cook on low for another hour or so to allow to thicken. Removed celery, carrots, and bay leaves before serving - just didn't grow up eating bean soup with carrots and celery in it. Served with corn bread. It was yummy! Hoping to have lots of leftovers for the week, but everyone enjoyed it and only have enough for one lefover bowl :-(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This soup is excellent! The only thing I added was a can of stewed tomatoes and a bay leaf! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This recipe was FABULOUS! Like other users, I made a few changes. I noticed that someone else had said that there weren't enough beans, so I used a pound and a half. It was the perfect amount. Also, instead of using all water, I used 6 cups of chicken broth (a big can) and the rest water. I also let the ham bone simmer in the broth for about 2 hours (w/ a bay leaf) before adding the beans. And finally, instead of finely chopping the onions, I pureed them in my mini chopper. That way, my kids didn't even notice they were there. :-) I omitted the celery. I didn't think it needed it. The whole family loved it! I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shashyp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I changed a few things without losing the integrity of this recipe. I used dry great northern beans instead of navy. I followed the recipe on the packaging for quick cooking(turned out great). After draining the soaked beans, I added fresh water. I had leftover ham and bone from Christmas added that with onion and celery and let cook for 2 hours. I then took out bone and also took out 1/3 of the beans to mash. I then added diced carrots(slicing is too big for me for this soup) and leftover ham and ham from the bone that had been cooking. I added spices listed and didn't change that and after cooking another 45 minutes with lid off to thicken it more, it came out delicious. This is the first time I ever attempted cooking a ham and bean soup but I have to say, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Wow! Used the left over Christmas Ham. I cooked it in the crock pot... Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Didnt even come close to following the recipe, but I had never made Ham and Bean soup before, and this is the recipe I picked as my inspiration. Giving it 5 stars simply because my soup turned out amazing. Glad I found this recipe to "guide" me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I added beef and chicken broth as a substitute for some of the water, and left out the carrots - it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States