Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great tasting ham and bean soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe!!! I added a few slices of jamoniberico de bellota also known as iberico ham or patanegra thinly cut. This Spanish ham has a strong and delicious flavor, therefore you do not need much, only 50 grams or 1.8 OZ for four people which I sprinkle once the soup is already served. You can find jamonibericoat BuyJamon.com BuyJamon.com the market place for iberico ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
OMG....this is a wonderful soup for a cold day. I did bake the ham first(smoked ham hock) the night before then boiled it the next day, used canned beans(because I had them in the cupboard) mashing 1 can and leaving the others whole also added a bay leaf and that's about it. Definately give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I'm not a big Bean Soup fan, but I made this because I had a ham bone in the freezer. My husband, parents and neighbors all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnd93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
First attempt at Ham and Bean Soup and had to pour a lot of the water out of this to get close to the consistency in the picture. Could use a little pick me up in taste, so may add a little hot sauce to the leftovers, but a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is almost the same as we've made for years. VERY GOOD.... but one trick we've found is to either add a 1/2 bag of lima beans to the others, or a can of butter beans drained and smushed. It makes the soup thicker and creamier.... especially if you're in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Just like my mom would make it. However I put hot & spicy ketchup and Tapatio hot sauce on the top to serve. Just like mom told us too. Gives it a sweet hot taste for the ones who like it kicked up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Watty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made the mistake of adding ham base for more flavor, when reheating leftovers it was too salty. I also added a large baking potato, diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Best ever and vey easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Tasteless. I followed recipe to the "T" and after tasting had to add salt, pepper, garlic salt, cayenne pepper and still had little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States