Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This soup is pretty good and I would highly recommend including the vegetable broth. Make sure you start cooking the beans in the morning as it takes alll day to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I had to doctor this up because it was too bland. I would suggest less water and then add more as needed. It turned out too soupy, so I cooked it for quite a few hours to get it to reduce. I added 2 chicken boullion cubes, a bay leaf, sage, real garlic and used smoked paprika instead of reg. paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
O----------M-------G!!!!!!!...Awesome!....I had a left over ham bone with ham still on it and some dried Great Northern beans...I made this and the house smelled like heaven all afternoon...The taste even matched the Heavenly smell....This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Now this is a fantastic bean soup recipe. I loved it! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting. Wait! I did use great northern beans instead of navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this soup and it turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly and added a few ingredients of my own. I put in crushed fresh garlic with the vegetables and added two bay leaves. I run a small kitchen and it was the soup of the day. People loved it. Will become a regular item on my menu. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this recipe with some changes: using 2 cans navy beans. 1 whole with juice and one rinsed, drained, and lighty mashed. Chicken broth instead of water, and no celery. I sauted the onions and carrots and added everything else, cooked for one hour, removed bone and added the meat back to the pot. Stirred and served. It was good for a quick throw together meal but it was lacking something. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder too and it was still lacking. Maybe a jalapeno would help? The soup was def better the next day after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've made this soup several times. It's the best way to use up leftover ham. There is nothing about this soup that I can ever complain about. It's simple to make, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! My family normally doesn't care for beans that much, but when I made this they couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe was ok, but I did find it to be slightly bland so I ended up adding more seasonings to it as well as using beef broth for some of the liquid. I only had pinto and kidney beans on hand so used those instead. Overall though a fairly good recipe and one I would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I hated ham and beans growing up because my mom made it so thick. I'm still not a huge fan of the smell, but if I can get past that, this recipe makes a pretty tasty soup that my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States