Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I added potatoes and I think it would have been better without them. Next time I will stick to the original recipe. It took way longer to make than I realized also, but it was my first time cooking with dry beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yum! Nothing like coming home to a crockpot full of this wonderful soup! I used a bag of mixed beans and added some brown sugar like other reviewers. Otherwise followed the recipe as is. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I just finished making this soup. I made half the recipe (only 2 of us in the house). Here is what I did: I used the crock pot to heat the soup. I soaked the beans overnight, then added 2 cups of hot water with chicken boullion (mixed well) and a tsp. of baking soda to the crock pot with the ham bone and beans on high for 3 hours. After reading other recipes I also added: 1 tsp. Lawry's Salt, a bay leaf, 1 tsp. chili powder and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I suated the onion/celery/carrot in butter. After 3 hours I removed the ham bone and bay leaf and added the onion mixture and ham pieces. The soup was quite thick so I added about a cup of additional chicken broth and is still nice and thick-judge this to your liking. I did not mash any of the beans as my soup was thick without doing so. This is the best ham and bean soup I've made..lot's of good flavor..not bland. Note: my ham was not salty-rather dry so judge your salt input accordingly. And-the chicken broth makes ALL the difference in the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent hearty base, however, did add a few things: 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. brown sugar, 1/8 tsp. cayenne, 5 chicken bouillon, 2/3 c. mashed potato. Served with honey wheat bread. Added lots of smoked Amish ham chunks (no bone.) This was a huge hit at our dinnner table made up of all males except me. I did soak the beans overnite to cut down on the gas factor. Will make this again and again. thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was better the next day and just as good after being frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very Good. Just like my mom makes. I did add 4 cups of veg. broth and a bay leaf but everything else the same. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bonfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was good, but not as good as I expected. I was hoping for something thicker, and there were too many carrots. I will try again, but modify the recipe a bit for my own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Seriously delicious soup! So yummy, especially when you save the juices from the ham and put them in the soup (I would never make this soup without using the reserved juices, it makes the flavor out of this world) - very rich flavor! This is a great way to use up leftover ham, I will definitely make this again. The soup freezes great, too! I like to freeze them in pint size freezer bags, so easy to heat up a single serving for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved the flavor of this soup! Reminded me of my mothers! Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was the most flavorless soup I have ever tasted. The water needs to be subsitiuted with something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States