Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Great base, use less liquid and more seasoning as others have said. Good start for a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom24t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious and easy. I followed the recipe but only used 2 1/2 quarts water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My boyfriend received a ham at Christmas from his work and I told him I'd make him some recipes to use it up. This was one of the recipes he selected. This was my first crack at ham & bean soup. I did everything according to the recipe...except I added chicken boullion as others suggested and I did 4 carrots & 4 celery stalks. The house smelled INCREDIBLE while cooking. And let me just say, that I am a vegetarian and this recipe actually made me want to eat ham...I didn't of course, but man I wanted to! My boyfriend raved about this soup and I'm sure next Christmas he'll have me make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe was not good. Made it exactly as directed except decreased water to 2 1/2 qts since read in many other reviews 4 qts was too much. Even with just that much water soup was very bland, and I used a large meaty ham bone from a spiral sliced ham so it should have been very flavorful. Tried doubling the seasonings as others suggested but it was still bland. Definitely won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Added some other spices based on my mom's recollections of her recipe - 1 t basil, oregano, upped pepper to 1 t also...used fresh garlic - 2 cloves. Quick soaked beans - read it MIGHT cut down on their gassiness factor - then all to crockpot. GOOD STUFF - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I thought this was delicious. Used one box of chicken broth and 2 quarts water. Needed extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Good flavor, reminds me of my grandma's! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I made a few changes -- used 2 quarts water, added 2 tsp salt, minced 2 garlic cloves instead of garlic powder, eliminated paprika, and bought a center cut ham slice since i didn't have ham bone. Best navy bean soup I've ever made. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! I read the reviews and doubled the spices, used half chicken broth for the liquid and added some garlic salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States