Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
As others suggested, I replaced most of the water with broth for extra flavor. Added additional spices, was bland with the spices called for in the recipe. I soaked my beans for 10 hours, and I had to simmer them for about 45 minutes before they were soft enough to add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Im not a big fan. It was far to bland and i was way liberal with the spice. Having said this i do prefer my food spicy so to each there own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Excellent gluten free dairy free meal that feeds a lot! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I also had to change a couple of small things but my 9 year old loved it and it freezes great. This was a very tasty filling soup. Great for cold nights served with warm fresh bread. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janathome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
mmmmmmm. I didn't think it was gonna turn out that good, but to my suprise, it was DELICOUS! I used part chicken broth for the water, and only used 3 qts of water, and kept adding water till the beans were soft. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i think this might be the best soup I've ever made .. and I've made quite a few soups. I simmered my ham bone for a couple hours in the water with half an onion and a couple bay leaves, peppercorns too. I also added some rosemary. Absolutely delicious .. you will not be dissapointed with this one. Even my eleven year old daughter who is not a soup fan ate a whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
VERY EASY! VERY HEARTY! VERY YUMMY! I always make split pea soup with left over ham but this time I tried this navy bean soup recipe. Well, this is my new go-to recipe. No more split pea, this is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. It disappeared! Absolutely fantastic. I did soak the beans longer than overnight - about 16 hours - and it was perfect! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this soup today with some modifications and my wife enjoyed it so much she made 3 glowing compliments, which is highly unusual. Instead of garlic powder, I finely mince 4 cloves of garlic and added them along with 3 bay leaves when cooking the ham bones with 1/3 of the beans and 4 Wylers Boulion cubes. When I removed the ham bones I added additional chunked ham, white pepper instead of black pepper and 1/4 tsp of celery salt instead of the celery and a pinch of sea salt. I let it on a high simmer all day. I forgot the onions and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was just what i was craving. I cooked ham and beans all day in the crockpot, when almost done i mashed some and added double the veggies. PERFECTION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommydeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States