Ham and Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this today with a ham bone I had in the freezer. The only changes I made: 2 cans kidney beans, 2 cans of Rotel and fresh parsley because I had it in the fridge. I didn't cover the ham bone with water, I used 3 cans of water instead. Leaving the cover off the pot as it cooked on the stove, there wasn't much broth (which was perfect)! Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved this soup. Used a bag of dried beans (soaked over night and cooked in the morning to soften) in addition to the one can of kidneys we had on hand. Only had one ham hock and some diced ham and no sausage, so went with this. Did not have celery or parsley and did not want to make a trip to the store, so left those out. Sauteed and onion after browning the ham hock and before adding remaining ingredients, then cooked in the oven at 200 for the rest of the day. Great over cornbread muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I omit the sausage and bay leaves every time and always use leftover ham that I have frozen. This is a convenient recipe because I usually have the ingredients on hand. Even my hubby who doesn't like soup enjoys this. The flavors mix so well for a very delicious taste. You won't regret making this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I love this soup. It's super flavorful and filling! It's even better for leftovers the next day! I altered the recipe a bit to work with what I had in my kitchen. I used jimmy dean sausage and browned it in a skillet, used 8 oz. of chopped ham instead of ham hocks, 1 can of a bean mix of black, pinto, and red kidney beans, and one can of white kidney beans, 1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of 15 oz., one can of chopped tomatoes, and one can of rotel, and one tsp. of garlic powder instead of chopped garlic. I threw it all in the crock pot, added 2 cups of chicken broth, and cooked it on low for 8-9 hours. I served it with the vegan agave cornbread muffins (I used maple syrup instead of agave though) from this website and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I skipped the sausage and used a ham bone I had left over from a spiral cut ham. Used a can of kidney beans and also added 1 1/2 cups of water since it seemed too thick. Then added elbow macaroni the last 1/2 hour. Fabulous. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharingMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I'm not a sausage person but I used turkey sausage and 1/2 a small pork shoulder roast (couldn't get ham hocks). I boiled the pork to reduce the fat and removed all that I could prior to cutting it up. It was so tender it pulled apart! I also used my own stewed tomatoes from the summer (seasoned with garlic, oregano and basil). Thank you for this recipe. It isn't something I would have thought to do myself and it will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have yearned for a good bean soup for ages.. This was amazing.. I made corn bread with it and that really topped it off.. Thank you for a wonderful recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
YUM! so different and hearty! thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The soup, as I made it, was delicious!! followed the instructions exactly. I deducted one star because the picture had that grotesque mushroom floating on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Our whole family loved this soup! It's incredibly easy, but also tasty and nutrious. I often make it for our soup rotation at work and there's never leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States