Ham and Asparagus Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I tried to cut some fat and calories by using half and half, but had trouble with the consistency of the sauce. That was probably because I did not use fresh grated cheese, so I suppose it was my fault. I microwaved a ham steak and cubed it, that worked great. I also used a box of frozen asparagus as the fresh stuff is pretty expensive this time of year. Great recipe, I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Was upset when I couldnt find the copy I had of this recipe. This is my favorite recipe on this site. Needed to get it into my recipe box in case I misplace it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Pretty good...but not very low cal! I added the mushrooms and the onions with the butter as well. I liked this way to cook up some leftover ham. It was a different way other than a casserole or ham soup. Maybe next time I will try the milk rather than the cream. I also added some nutmeg (like Rachel Ray does). It is her secret ingredient for alfredo sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Thanks, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious. We made this right after Easter, and it was a great way to use up that ham! I substituted one cup milk and one cup reduced fat sour cream for the heavy cream, and I sprinkled in flour until it reached desired thickness. I sauteed some fresh garlic, mushrooms, and onion in the butter before adding the milk/sour cream. I think the fresh garlic and onion really added to the flavor of this creamy dish. Fresh grated Parmesan cheese was the perfect final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a pretty basic recipe and as it stands is probably lucky to obtain a 3-star rating. I doctored it up a bit and it was pretty good in the end. Here is what I did: I followed the advice of another review and made a glaze using 3 Tbsp of brown sugar, 2 Tbsp of honey and 2 Tbsp of melted butter. I cubed a ham steak and baked the ham in the glaze for 20 or 30 minutes. While that is cooling, I sauteed about 1/2 cup each chopped onions and mushrooms, 3 cloves of garlic and 8 oz of chopped asparagus. I made the sauce using 1/3 cup butter and added about 2 Tbsp of flour (cook that for a few minutes to cook out the 'floury' taste) and then added 1.5 cups milk and 1/2 cup half-and-half, the cheese, a generous grating of fresh nutmeg (this is integral to any good white sauce), and salt and pepper to taste. Once the sauce was done, I tossed in the veggies and ham and combined everything with the hot cooked pasta. The end result was pretty good and definitely made more than 4 servings (more like 6).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and it was really good, I used evaporated milk (12oz) and then 2% milk instead of the cream and I added basil instead of the hot pepper, I also used bow tie pasta. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was great! Estimated cooking time is increased if you trim the Asparagus. Next time I will thicken with flour as the other's suggested and use milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Elkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Made this with a few changes and it came out great. I used prosciutto instead of regular ham, and used 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream instead of 2 cups of heavy cream. I had a whole pound of asparagus on hand so I used more than the 8 ounces called for. It also made more sense to use penne or ziti since they are the same size as the cut asparagus and easier to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I didn't change anything about this recipe and thought it was great! Definitely high in calories though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States