Ham Tetrazzini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is a great [almost one pot] meal! I had to do some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but it's a great base recipe! I saw the recipe lacked any seasoning, so I sauteed two cloves of fresh minced garlic with the onion - and increased the onion to one small onion. I didn't have pimiento, so I also sauteed diced green pepper with the onion until soft. I used Chinese Mie noodles (Ramen), low-sodium Cream of Chicken soup (I think this is much better than Mushroom would be!), milk instead of water (much creamier!), sharp cheddar (a little extra) and added ground white pepper and celery salt. I also let the mix simmer on the lowest heat for nearly an hour waiting on my husband, and as I tasted it every 15 minutes, it got better and better. Leftovers will be great! Everyone in the family loved it! I served it with shredded cheese and a sprinkle of parsely on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This is an awesome recipe!! I agree ~ it tastes as though you have worked for hours when in reality it is so super easy! The first time I made it exactly as written and received rave reviews from my family. The next time, I played with the recipe just a bit: I didn't have any fresh parsley, so I added in about 1/2 cup frozen broccoli florets (thawed) with the ham and also tossed in a few sliced mushrooms (from a jar); I was a little low on cheddar cheese, too, so I added some Parmesan. It still turned out wonderful. I love recipes that give you some freedom to be flexible (and still taste great!) This one is definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I was surprised at how good this tasted with my revisions--skip onions; use low fat marg.; use low fat mushroom soup; reduce water to 1/4 c.; add 1/4 c. dry white wine; add 1/4 c. parmesan. Very flavorful my way. I didn't use the parsley or pimento because I didn't have it. You do need those two ingredients for color purposes only. I'll definitely make this again. Even my husband enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was exactly what I was looking for to use up the Easter ham leftovers. I doubled the recipe to make 8 servings, and I used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup to cut the calories. It had a great creamy cheesy mild taste, and the combination of ham, cheese and cream of mushroom made it plenty salty without having to add salt. I added just a little black pepper and garlic, and it was perfect. This was also a very quick dish to prepare on a school night. Thanks! 5*****Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
GREAT RECIPE - This is also good because you can do it all in one pot other than cooking the noodles. I doubled this recipe. I changed/added a few things. I added minced garlic and black pepper which were not listed for extra flavor, chicken broth instead of water (this does not need salt due to the salt in the condensed soup). I used ham steaks (chopped)and sauteed all vegetables, ham and seasoning together before adding the soup, chicken broth and cheese - add extra cheese. The family really enjoyed this one (sauteed mushrooms would be great in this but my son would not eat it if I had added them). Since we are ham lovers we will make again and again. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I gave it 5 stars because of how easy it was and its a good one for putting your own twists on. Great for a busy weeknight. I did change some things based on what others said and it was actually great with the changes. I douubled the recipee and used 4 cloves of fresh garlic and 8 ounces fresh mushrooms which I sauted with the onions. I used a full 2 cups of shereded mozerella and provelone cheese. (It was what I had on hand) I omited the pimento and instead added a 16oz bag of chopped mixed veggies. Instead of water I used chicken broth and added just a tad more than the recipee called for. I also used the whole 16oz box of spaghetti. I used ham, but i bet chicken or turkey would be good too. Thanks for such a great recipee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
A good, easy, and fast meal. Per other reviewers, I too used 1/4c water & 1/4c white wine, but I think chicken broth could also be subbed instead or you could use a splash of white wine while sauting the onions. Also, I added some fresh/sliced mushrooms (in the saute') and added parmesan to taste. Good and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This was very easy. Great for kids but bland for adults. I added extra cheese and left out the pimento.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
Very Good! My husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was delicious! I'm making this one of my standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States