Ham Stir Fry with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I would have given it 5 stars because my family really liked it and the flavor was good. I had to make one substitution - I used minced ginger because I did not have ground but I think the minced enhanced the flavor more. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is because I felt there was a little too much corn starch. I read another reviewers comments about the same before making but wanted to try it as described first. It is definitely going in my recipe box and I will make again soon (with a little less corn starch)! Love the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is very good exactly as printed. The second time I made it, I served it over rice, and increased the heat a bit by using fresh (grated) ginger root (rather than the powdered ginger), tossed in a hot chinese pepper with the vegetables (remove it before serving!), and used dry-roasted unsalted peanuts instead of the almonds. Made a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
i tried this out for the very 1st time..i followed some of the reviews tips of cutting down on the cornstarch as well as the brown sugar.it was great. i loved it,my family loved it. :) great way of using up ham from thnaksgiving,or just to try a different dish with ham..next time i make this again i will add snow peas,& mushrooms.(i suggest not putting in green peppers as the taste may over power the flavors.will look foward to making it again,wether with couscous or rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique.T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is average. We used cubed ham and that was a mistake. The flavor didn't come through. Also, I think it was a bit too much cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by andiek1987
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My fiance and I loved this recipe! It was fast and tasted really good! I used stir-fry sauce instead of soy sauce and all broccoli instead of a cauliflower and broccoli mix. I added more ham than needed also and a few more waterchestnuts as well. This was really good and we will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I loved the sauce. Super easy! The only difference is I used veggies I had on hand and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The only substitution I made was to use a veggie stir-fry mix instead of the broccoli/cauliflower mix. I also used rice instead of couscous because my boyfriend doesn't care for couscous. Didn't change anything else. The dish was good, although not stellar. The sauce was nicely sweet (good with the ham) and thick, but maybe a bit too thick. I think I'd add a little less cornstarch next time. The dish was tasty and VERY quick so I would make again, although I might try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this to try since I never had couscous before. It was alright but it was too bitter for me. I really liked the ham and couscous conbination. If you try this recipe maybe leave out the veggies for a not so healthy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe calls for and it was just ok. I had to add salt, pepper, garlic powder and ground red pepper to give it more flavor as it was too bland without it. Sorry but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was delicious. Great flavor, just added some sugar snap peas in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States