Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great base recipe for those of us that like to tinker with recipes. I had 4 cups of leftover ham that I ground. I mixed in the pickle relish and other ingredients in recipe. I did add about 1/3 C. diced pineapple (that was cooked on my ham) and added 1/2 an 8 oz container of whipped cream cheese. I also added minced grn onion and a few shakes of hot sauce. YUM! I don't recommend adding salt until you taste it. Let rest in fridge overnight & then, YUM - on crackers, rye bread, whatever...I love it with my few modifications! Idea/Edit: I only had about 1 C ground ham I needed to use or toss out. So, I mixed in liver sausage (about 1/4 C) and rest of ingredients with a few tweaks. Another yummy spread. Just giving ya'll ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My husband requested a ham spread for sandwiches but I've never tasted one before, let alone made one. The first time I made this recipe I used mayo instead of miracle whip, opting for the olives instead of the relish. He liked it, but said it needed more "zing." With the second try, I used a mixture of Miracle Whip and and mayo (we are cutting down on sugar, which Miracle Whip contains) and he said it was perfect! I like it very much as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
my husband loved it when I used the onion but the kids didn't. The next time I made it I left out the onion and everyone loved it! We used the pickle relish, not the green olives. It was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very simple way to make ham spread. I will usually make this after Easter or Christmas with the leftover odds and ends of the holiday ham. I don't usually keep dill pickle relish on hand, I'll throw in two garlic dills. I also don't eat "salad dressing", I use Hellman's mayonnaise. All this really needs is a little fresh ground pepper. Grandma made this for the kids when we were little, now I make this for mine. Best on saltines. This also is good using a pound of un sliced quality bologna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great use for leftover Christmas ham! Even my 3yr old daughter liked this. I added extra mustard, but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out yummy. Don't have a food processor, but used a hand-chopper and the ham got diced up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Yum! I had two thick slices of ham leftover from Thanksgiving (maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of a pound total), I omitted the onions, I used more like 2 or 3 tablespoons of dill relish, the teaspoon of mustard, and maybe 1/3 cup of mayo as I don't care for Miracle Whip. I didn't measure anything, just added it in. Oh, and I don't have a food processor, just one of those little mini-choppers. I chopped the ham up (took maybe five or six pulses) then put it in a bowl and added the other ingredients. It tasted great immediately after mixing, I'm sure it'll be much better after sitting in the fridge awhile! A quick and great use for leftover ham. Thanks, Pat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Not too bad! I have been looking for a ham spread recipe like my mom used to make when I was a child and this one may be a good place to start. Will have to "fiddle" with it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I liked this recipe for a number of reasons: homemade is always better that deli made, you control the amount of fat/junk in the ham going in, and it tastes really good! Great idea for leftover ham! I doubled this recipe and used Dijon mustard. Dijon is more mild and next time I will use yellow mustard for more zip! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockpot Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My husband loved it!! Very good. I will use again and again. Much more cost effective and tasty then buying spread from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I had about a pound and half of leftover Easter honey ham that I needed to use up. So my ham was sweet enough to use regular mayo, we don't like sweet mayo. Didn't have dill relish so chopped some kosher dill pickles, and a red sweet onion. Since so many reviews said this was missing the "zing" I added a big wooden spoonful of chopped pickled jalapeño peppers and dash of cayenne. My husband said he liked the sweet and spicy taste and was much better than my mom's plain ham spread. Great on crackers or wrapped in a sandwich wrap with lettuce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States