Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. We did NOT like it at all. I will not make this version of ham spread again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this today using all the ingredients listed but I varied the amounts to suit my taste. It's very good. The perfect classic ham salad. Thanks Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love this recipe! I have been making it for several years and my family begs for it whenever we have leftover ham. I use regular mayo instead of Miracle Whip, but that's it! Keep in mind if you change mustards (like using Dijon as suggested above) you will change the whole flavor of the spread. This spread is so delicious, I've even given it away as gifts at the holidays in a decorative crock (with a note to refrigerate immediately, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I had about a pound and half of leftover Easter honey ham that I needed to use up. So my ham was sweet enough to use regular mayo, we don't like sweet mayo. Didn't have dill relish so chopped some kosher dill pickles, and a red sweet onion. Since so many reviews said this was missing the "zing" I added a big wooden spoonful of chopped pickled jalapeño peppers and dash of cayenne. My husband said he liked the sweet and spicy taste and was much better than my mom's plain ham spread. Great on crackers or wrapped in a sandwich wrap with lettuce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a decent spread. STill is missing something, not sure what. I added yellow mustard for zip, miracle whip onion flakes, celery salt & relish. It' just missing something, not as good as the store made kind. Still going to keep looking. This is ok and will do.. but just not quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I liked this recipe for a number of reasons: homemade is always better that deli made, you control the amount of fat/junk in the ham going in, and it tastes really good! Great idea for leftover ham! I doubled this recipe and used Dijon mustard. Dijon is more mild and next time I will use yellow mustard for more zip! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockpot Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It was ok. My mother in law make and ham and bologna combo spread that is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made this for years. When ever there is leftover ham from the holiday dinners my family asks me to make "Ham Salad". Let me tell you that it doesn't last long in my house. I love the saltiness my self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was pretty good. My kids love the saltiness in this recipe...me I melowed my portion down a bit with extra reduced fat mayo. It was totally simplet to do, I mixed my batch all in the food processor instead of dirting up another bowl. It was very easy and delicious. I will make this again, oh and served on fresh bakery bread instead of store bought hamburger buns, that was a key to a great sandwich for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Tastes a lot like the deli spread. I made it with sweet relish, because it's what we had, but next time I'll use dill. We felt it needed more relish, but didn't really measure it anyway. So glad to get this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States