Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
my husband loved it when I used the onion but the kids didn't. The next time I made it I left out the onion and everyone loved it! We used the pickle relish, not the green olives. It was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Quick and easy to prepare but didn't pass the picky husband test. I however liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Not too bad! I have been looking for a ham spread recipe like my mom used to make when I was a child and this one may be a good place to start. Will have to "fiddle" with it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My husband requested a ham spread for sandwiches but I've never tasted one before, let alone made one. The first time I made this recipe I used mayo instead of miracle whip, opting for the olives instead of the relish. He liked it, but said it needed more "zing." With the second try, I used a mixture of Miracle Whip and and mayo (we are cutting down on sugar, which Miracle Whip contains) and he said it was perfect! I like it very much as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Easy. I did the whole thing in the food processor starting with the onions. I used a bit more than 1/4 cup mayonnaise in place of the Miracle Whip. I also used twice the amount of relish (sweet) and yellow mustard. 4 stars because it's easy but not THE BEST ham spread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Yum! I had two thick slices of ham leftover from Thanksgiving (maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of a pound total), I omitted the onions, I used more like 2 or 3 tablespoons of dill relish, the teaspoon of mustard, and maybe 1/3 cup of mayo as I don't care for Miracle Whip. I didn't measure anything, just added it in. Oh, and I don't have a food processor, just one of those little mini-choppers. I chopped the ham up (took maybe five or six pulses) then put it in a bowl and added the other ingredients. It tasted great immediately after mixing, I'm sure it'll be much better after sitting in the fridge awhile! A quick and great use for leftover ham. Thanks, Pat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great base recipe for those of us that like to tinker with recipes. I had 4 cups of leftover ham that I ground. I mixed in the pickle relish and other ingredients in recipe. I did add about 1/3 C. diced pineapple (that was cooked on my ham) and added 1/2 an 8 oz container of whipped cream cheese. I also added minced grn onion and a few shakes of hot sauce. YUM! I don't recommend adding salt until you taste it. Let rest in fridge overnight & then, YUM - on crackers, rye bread, whatever...I love it with my few modifications! Idea/Edit: I only had about 1 C ground ham I needed to use or toss out. So, I mixed in liver sausage (about 1/4 C) and rest of ingredients with a few tweaks. Another yummy spread. Just giving ya'll ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great use for leftover Christmas ham! Even my 3yr old daughter liked this. I added extra mustard, but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out yummy. Don't have a food processor, but used a hand-chopper and the ham got diced up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My husband loved it!! Very good. I will use again and again. Much more cost effective and tasty then buying spread from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States