Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My husband loved it!! Very good. I will use again and again. Much more cost effective and tasty then buying spread from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My husband requested a ham spread for sandwiches but I've never tasted one before, let alone made one. The first time I made this recipe I used mayo instead of miracle whip, opting for the olives instead of the relish. He liked it, but said it needed more "zing." With the second try, I used a mixture of Miracle Whip and and mayo (we are cutting down on sugar, which Miracle Whip contains) and he said it was perfect! I like it very much as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great base recipe for those of us that like to tinker with recipes. I had 4 cups of leftover ham that I ground. I mixed in the pickle relish and other ingredients in recipe. I did add about 1/3 C. diced pineapple (that was cooked on my ham) and added 1/2 an 8 oz container of whipped cream cheese. I also added minced grn onion and a few shakes of hot sauce. YUM! I don't recommend adding salt until you taste it. Let rest in fridge overnight & then, YUM - on crackers, rye bread, whatever...I love it with my few modifications! Idea/Edit: I only had about 1 C ground ham I needed to use or toss out. So, I mixed in liver sausage (about 1/4 C) and rest of ingredients with a few tweaks. Another yummy spread. Just giving ya'll ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I loved this. First time every I have ground ham and it was fun. I made tortilla roll ups with this for an event at our local police station and these were a big hit with the officers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was pretty good. My kids love the saltiness in this recipe...me I melowed my portion down a bit with extra reduced fat mayo. It was totally simplet to do, I mixed my batch all in the food processor instead of dirting up another bowl. It was very easy and delicious. I will make this again, oh and served on fresh bakery bread instead of store bought hamburger buns, that was a key to a great sandwich for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
my husband loved it when I used the onion but the kids didn't. The next time I made it I left out the onion and everyone loved it! We used the pickle relish, not the green olives. It was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Yum! I had two thick slices of ham leftover from Thanksgiving (maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of a pound total), I omitted the onions, I used more like 2 or 3 tablespoons of dill relish, the teaspoon of mustard, and maybe 1/3 cup of mayo as I don't care for Miracle Whip. I didn't measure anything, just added it in. Oh, and I don't have a food processor, just one of those little mini-choppers. I chopped the ham up (took maybe five or six pulses) then put it in a bowl and added the other ingredients. It tasted great immediately after mixing, I'm sure it'll be much better after sitting in the fridge awhile! A quick and great use for leftover ham. Thanks, Pat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great use for leftover Christmas ham! Even my 3yr old daughter liked this. I added extra mustard, but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out yummy. Don't have a food processor, but used a hand-chopper and the ham got diced up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I liked this recipe for a number of reasons: homemade is always better that deli made, you control the amount of fat/junk in the ham going in, and it tastes really good! Great idea for leftover ham! I doubled this recipe and used Dijon mustard. Dijon is more mild and next time I will use yellow mustard for more zip! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockpot Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love this recipe! I have been making it for several years and my family begs for it whenever we have leftover ham. I use regular mayo instead of Miracle Whip, but that's it! Keep in mind if you change mustards (like using Dijon as suggested above) you will change the whole flavor of the spread. This spread is so delicious, I've even given it away as gifts at the holidays in a decorative crock (with a note to refrigerate immediately, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States