Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is such a good way to use up leftover ham. I like to put it on toast or crackers. I adjusted the amounts of the ingredients to suit our taste, but it is a really good combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
For those looking for that extra zing, I added a tablespoon of apple cider vineger and it really helped. I have learned to use vineger when recipes are lacking that tang you crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very simple way to make ham spread. I will usually make this after Easter or Christmas with the leftover odds and ends of the holiday ham. I don't usually keep dill pickle relish on hand, I'll throw in two garlic dills. I also don't eat "salad dressing", I use Hellman's mayonnaise. All this really needs is a little fresh ground pepper. Grandma made this for the kids when we were little, now I make this for mine. Best on saltines. This also is good using a pound of un sliced quality bologna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. We did NOT like it at all. I will not make this version of ham spread again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this today using all the ingredients listed but I varied the amounts to suit my taste. It's very good. The perfect classic ham salad. Thanks Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love this recipe! I have been making it for several years and my family begs for it whenever we have leftover ham. I use regular mayo instead of Miracle Whip, but that's it! Keep in mind if you change mustards (like using Dijon as suggested above) you will change the whole flavor of the spread. This spread is so delicious, I've even given it away as gifts at the holidays in a decorative crock (with a note to refrigerate immediately, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I had about a pound and half of leftover Easter honey ham that I needed to use up. So my ham was sweet enough to use regular mayo, we don't like sweet mayo. Didn't have dill relish so chopped some kosher dill pickles, and a red sweet onion. Since so many reviews said this was missing the "zing" I added a big wooden spoonful of chopped pickled jalapeño peppers and dash of cayenne. My husband said he liked the sweet and spicy taste and was much better than my mom's plain ham spread. Great on crackers or wrapped in a sandwich wrap with lettuce and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a decent spread. STill is missing something, not sure what. I added yellow mustard for zip, miracle whip onion flakes, celery salt & relish. It' just missing something, not as good as the store made kind. Still going to keep looking. This is ok and will do.. but just not quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I liked this recipe for a number of reasons: homemade is always better that deli made, you control the amount of fat/junk in the ham going in, and it tastes really good! Great idea for leftover ham! I doubled this recipe and used Dijon mustard. Dijon is more mild and next time I will use yellow mustard for more zip! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockpot Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It was ok. My mother in law make and ham and bologna combo spread that is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States