Ham Salad Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Instead of sweet pickle relish, I used two large garlic dill pickles. I ran my chunked ham and pickles through my food processor for the coarse chop I was looking for. The mayonnaise/mustard was the perfect amount. The ham salad wasn't too thick or too runny. This reminds me of the ham salad Grandma made for me as a kid--my family all enjoyed this very much. We ate it schmeared on saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was just perfect. I used my food processor to grind the ham. It was delicious with crackers. My husband used what was left to make a sandwich with. He has asked me twice now when am I going to make this again:) thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My family loved it. We try not to eat mayo much and really not all. We have changed our diets for two years and have not had mayo since. I love ham salad and found this recipe. We only used ham, eggs, mustard, sweet relish, onion powder, and instead of mayo used no fat Greek yogurt as a sub. Wow. Very good. Like the others say perfect amount of ingredients. Perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The ham salad is great. It had the right combination of ingredients in it. I chopped the ham as I liked it chunky. If you have a ham dinner save some for ham salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I used this recipe when I had some leftover ham from a dinner and was looking to make a ham salad for my lunch during the week. It was indeed very tasty!!! I think what I would have done differently is to have ground 1/2 of the ham and finely chopped the other 1/2 for more of a lunchtime ham salad - I used my food processor & it came out a bit too pureed and mushy for a sandwich. However, I would possibly follow the recipe if I was looking to serve with some crackers or bread for dipping. Obviously you can taylor the ingredients to your liking, which is nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This ham salad was excellent!! Great Flavor! Just like I remember my Mom's ham salad!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Immel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a recipe my family has made for over 50 years. One can adjust the amount of each ingredients to suit your taste. We would use a meat grinder to grind the ham. Now, a food processor works nicely and saves time. I process the egg whites and save the cooked yokes. The yokes are mashed and mixed with the mustard and mayo and then mixed into the ham mixture. (I also start with a smaller amount of these ingredients, so the ham salad is not overly moist. One can always add a little more to reach the desired consistency) We serve it between two slices of toast with a couple leaves of lettuce. Chilling it prior to serving is best, giving the individual flavors time to blend together. Be sure to refrigerate the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent ham salad - just like my mom used make. The only change I made was to omit the celery only because I didn't have any on hand - will add next time. I was a little skeptical about the addition of mustard, but it works! Great with crackers or on a sandwich (my fave).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I recently made this ham salad and it was great. I had a larger batch from some left over ham. (about 4 times the above amount) I used some sweet and sour pickled zucchini I made last summer. I also added some carrots, celery,and onion. I processed it all through the food processor, and added mayo. I left the mustard out. This was great taste and the group (mostly men) I servered it too loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Great ham salad! My family gobbled it up!! I used sweet onion mustard little less onions! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loniu7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States