Ham Salad Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a recipe my family has made for over 50 years. One can adjust the amount of each ingredients to suit your taste. We would use a meat grinder to grind the ham. Now, a food processor works nicely and saves time. I process the egg whites and save the cooked yokes. The yokes are mashed and mixed with the mustard and mayo and then mixed into the ham mixture. (I also start with a smaller amount of these ingredients, so the ham salad is not overly moist. One can always add a little more to reach the desired consistency) We serve it between two slices of toast with a couple leaves of lettuce. Chilling it prior to serving is best, giving the individual flavors time to blend together. Be sure to refrigerate the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My grandmother used to make bologna salad with a recipe almost exactly like this. The trick to getting perfect ham or bologna salad is using a hand grinder-one that clamps onto the side of the table. Grind the meat then eggs, then sweet pickles. I haven't made this recipe, but everyone loved Grandma's bologna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was just perfect. I used my food processor to grind the ham. It was delicious with crackers. My husband used what was left to make a sandwich with. He has asked me twice now when am I going to make this again:) thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Instead of sweet pickle relish, I used two large garlic dill pickles. I ran my chunked ham and pickles through my food processor for the coarse chop I was looking for. The mayonnaise/mustard was the perfect amount. The ham salad wasn't too thick or too runny. This reminds me of the ham salad Grandma made for me as a kid--my family all enjoyed this very much. We ate it schmeared on saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This ham salad was excellent!! Great Flavor! Just like I remember my Mom's ham salad!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I read the reviews before making this recipe and changed the pickle relish to chopped dill pickles, per Sarah Jo's suggestion, but think the "bite" of the relish might have been better. I doubled the recipe and I also used about half the amount of mayonnaise and mustard (Hellmans, low calorie) and found that more than enough. I was also careful to choose an "upscale" ham to begin with. I served this as part of a holiday buffet with mini-rye breads and crackers, and it went largely ignored, although people who tried it, liked it, but did not rave as they did over other items on the buffet. My husband does love the recipe for sandwiches - a good thing because we had lots leftover. Why three stars - I don't think you should have to change a recipe from its original, and if sev Still looking for the perfect ham salad, like MY mother used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The ham salad is great. It had the right combination of ingredients in it. I chopped the ham as I liked it chunky. If you have a ham dinner save some for ham salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I recently made this ham salad and it was great. I had a larger batch from some left over ham. (about 4 times the above amount) I used some sweet and sour pickled zucchini I made last summer. I also added some carrots, celery,and onion. I processed it all through the food processor, and added mayo. I left the mustard out. This was great taste and the group (mostly men) I servered it too loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Not bad - I prefer a little more celery to add texture and crunch. Also, try finely chopped sweet gherkins instead of pickle relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I used this recipe when I had some leftover ham from a dinner and was looking to make a ham salad for my lunch during the week. It was indeed very tasty!!! I think what I would have done differently is to have ground 1/2 of the ham and finely chopped the other 1/2 for more of a lunchtime ham salad - I used my food processor & it came out a bit too pureed and mushy for a sandwich. However, I would possibly follow the recipe if I was looking to serve with some crackers or bread for dipping. Obviously you can taylor the ingredients to your liking, which is nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States