Ham Salad Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My husband and I were pleasantly pleased with this recipe. I did like some other reviewers suggested and used half mayo half sour cream, because it seemed like a lot of sour cream to me. I also used half the lemon juice called for and added some relish for sweetness. The relish helped to balance the sourness. As the grapes weren't looking very good in the grocery store I used a green apple instead, and it complemented the ham just as well as the grapes would have. Very tasty and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
The author of this recipe is right: the flavors are very nicely complementary. I have made it several times now. I have come to toast the almonds, which strengthens their taste and allows you to use less, as well as adding a haunting new layer of flavor. I also have used yogurt cheese instead of sour cream, but if you do that you should reduce the amount of lemon juice, or the dish will be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
Great recipe, I threw in some curry powder maybe 1/2-1 tsp. to give it a little extra zip. Served it with pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I didn't like the flavor of the sour cream with the other ingredients. This recipe would have been great with mayonaise or miracle whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
We added bagged coleslaw mix to stretch the recipe for our large family, and used turkey ham as we don't eat pork. Also added a bit of curry powder and sweet relish as per other reviewer's suggestions- delicious! Thanks for a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
It was very sour. The other reviews say to add mayo. Now I know why. The lemon and sour cream make a very tart salad. My husband and I hated it. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I used half sour cream and half mayo with this recipe. I don't like nuts or grapes with my savory dishes, so I left them out. I did, however, add a chopped kosher pickle for some crunch, garlic and onion powders and Vermont cheddar cheese. The yellow mustard added a nice flavor along with the green onion. This was great on the pita bread. Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I am rating this recipe based on some changes (half light mayo half light sour cream, toasting the almonds, adding toasted sunflower seeds, substituting some cilantro and celery for the green onion because that's what I had on hand), but I think it turned out really well! The flavors balance nicely and though I was a bit skeptical about the grapes, they are delicious! I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My husband was skeptical about this recipe. He has asked me to make some ham salad with our leftover Christmas ham, but when he read the recipe he wasn't conviced. I made this as well as the normal mayo, pickle, etc. ham salad. He like this one better after all. My daughter also ate this very well and it went great with pitas. I did use 1/2 the sour cream and lemon and I am glad I did, it wouldn't have suited our tastebuds as well if it were much more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe! It was the perfect ending to the leftover Christmas ham. I made it twice, but the second time, I put the ham in a food processor. This made the perfect texture and it really mixed well. My too little boys loved it which is saying alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Kendrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States