Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Holy cow, if anyone out there has high blood pressure, PLEASE leave out the salt!! It's not necessary as there's already plenty of it in the ham. Too much salt can surely ruin a perfectly good dish and without it, this salad is very tasty and worth making for lunch with your leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
AWESOME! At first, I thought it was just okay and decided to "doctor it up" in the morning...make this the night before, and let it set in the fridge overnite...Big Difference! I used half sweet pickles and half dill (couldn't decide!), and I also ground it up in the food processor. Our local deli's is very good, but this was so much better...thanks James!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I am not a cook....whoo...that is a understatement. I whipped this up from some left over ham and my husband went crazy over it. We did add some hard boiled eggs to this recipe and we were delighted at how wonderful everything blended together for a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I made this ham salad for finger sandwiches for a special function. I also made egg salad and tuna salad. The ham salad sandwiches went the fastest. Everybody raved about the taste. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I found this recipe to be very easy to make. However, it is extremely salty. I would not recommend the use of additional salt. I wish that I had noticed the sodium content prior to making the recipe. I ruined a good ham. I would attempt to make this again, only no smoked ham and no extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I used miracle whip in place of the mayo and left out the celery since I didn't have any and it was still great. Oh, and I only put in a pinch of salt. I can't wait to try it with the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This salad was easy and had a great taste!!! I used half mayo, half Miracle Whip, and used dill relish instead of sweet relish. I don't normally like ham salad, but this was good!!! I also left out the salt as suggested in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I am not a huge ham fan and found this recipe ideal for after-the-Holidays leftover ham. I added some spicy mustard for a bit of added flavor. I also chopped the ham and veggies in the food processor for a nice small consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Like the recipe says,Great on crackers or bread! I am the only ham lover in family,until hubby and son tried it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I used regular ham instead of smoked. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated. The taste didn't appeal to me. I found it much too salty, and I did not like the texture either. My suggestion is to omit the salt until the very end; then season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States