Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just like the store-made stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
For me, this recipe made way too much dressing for the rest of the ingredients. Didn't really care for the relish element either - just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like it, made a couple changes. About half the salt is plenty. Also, I prefer using an old fashioned grinder and running ham, green pepper and bread & butter pickles thru the grinder. I also added about 2 Tbsps of ground mustard. Great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful *base* recipe to use leftover ham in a hurry. However, as written, this recipe uses too much onion and is too salty. The longer you keep the dish in the fridge, the stronger the onion will become. The first time I made this, I couldn't get enough and was eating right from the processor. The next day, the onion had consumed the flavor the ham and I couldn't get past the first bite. This time I used about 2T of chopped white onion; enough to taste it the first day and enhanced the flavor of the ham the following day. I used 1 C Smart Balance light dressing in place of the mayonnaise. Since everyone seems to have their own mayonnaise preference, you may want to start by adding 1/2 C at a time. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 dill relish. The sweet relish provided a nice contrast to the ham and onion. There really isn't a need to mix the wet ingredients separately. I threw the diced ham, onion and celery in the food processor and pulsed until I was happy with the consistency. I transferred the ham mixture to a storage bowl then added the dressing and relish. This meal is designed to be enjoyed over a few days. Since the original recipe didn't taste good beyond day one, I had to give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made a batch of this for lunch and it was really good. Its your typical ham salad but I really enjoyed the addition of bell peppers crunchy yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
my family loves this. i dont put in the onion or pepper though. they ask me to make ham all the time just so that i will make this with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This makes a great dip for crackers. Very addictive! I don't even care for ham that much and absolutely could not stop eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent ham salad recipe. I didn't have any peppers so I added extra celery and I used red onion....definitely will use all my leftover baked ham slices for this ham salad. Makes a great lunch. I put everything in my mini-processor and only used half the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Never made h.s before but mom did. I like to doctor stuff so I used the ham, dill pickle with dash of splenda, pepper, celery, mayo,and little bit of left over long grain wild rice. With these I did not need to add extra salt and splenda to cut back on sugar in sweet pickles. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States