Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I apologize for not posting a picture. This Ham Salad was gone before I had the opportunity. I made the recipe as written. I have thrown Ham Salad before, and was unimpressed. I had a leftover 1/2 pound of BOARS HEAD deli ham that I needed to use. Using the Awesome tool or ALLRECIPES I adjusted the recipe. Now for all those whiners out there who complained up "too much salt", DUH. Even a beginning chef knows you taste as you season. Just because James said to add 2 tsp., ultimately it good to check it out. Ham is different and has varying degrees of saltiness. This recipe is now added to my recipe box....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Used leftover Honey Baked ham for this recipe. Added horseradish, prepared mustard, minced carrots and cucumber. Did not add any salt as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First, you need to know that I always make my first attempt at a recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN. I make NO substitutions, additions or subtractions. That being said... The flavor is good. It would be a hit as an appetizer, served with crackers and cheese. But the texture is not what we were looking for. It was "wet," and bland (to us). To rectify the situation, I placed all ingredients in the food processor. I added 10-12 crushed bacon flavored Ritz(TM) Crackers; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/4 tsp cayenne powder. If your mixture is not too "wet," and you don't use crackers, you MAY need to add a pinch of salt. TASTE FIRST! I give it 4 stars (can't give it 4.5 stars, or I would have) because it needed adjustments for my family, but it is a great starting place for making it to your own preference. Thanks James!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just like the store-made stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
For me, this recipe made way too much dressing for the rest of the ingredients. Didn't really care for the relish element either - just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like it, made a couple changes. About half the salt is plenty. Also, I prefer using an old fashioned grinder and running ham, green pepper and bread & butter pickles thru the grinder. I also added about 2 Tbsps of ground mustard. Great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful *base* recipe to use leftover ham in a hurry. However, as written, this recipe uses too much onion and is too salty. The longer you keep the dish in the fridge, the stronger the onion will become. The first time I made this, I couldn't get enough and was eating right from the processor. The next day, the onion had consumed the flavor the ham and I couldn't get past the first bite. This time I used about 2T of chopped white onion; enough to taste it the first day and enhanced the flavor of the ham the following day. I used 1 C Smart Balance light dressing in place of the mayonnaise. Since everyone seems to have their own mayonnaise preference, you may want to start by adding 1/2 C at a time. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 dill relish. The sweet relish provided a nice contrast to the ham and onion. There really isn't a need to mix the wet ingredients separately. I threw the diced ham, onion and celery in the food processor and pulsed until I was happy with the consistency. I transferred the ham mixture to a storage bowl then added the dressing and relish. This meal is designed to be enjoyed over a few days. Since the original recipe didn't taste good beyond day one, I had to give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made a batch of this for lunch and it was really good. Its your typical ham salad but I really enjoyed the addition of bell peppers crunchy yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
my family loves this. i dont put in the onion or pepper though. they ask me to make ham all the time just so that i will make this with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This makes a great dip for crackers. Very addictive! I don't even care for ham that much and absolutely could not stop eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States