Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My dad loved this recipe! Flavors blended well. We add sweet relish to taste so it wouldn't overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was a fantastic use of leftover ham from Thanksgiving. I used half the amount of onion called for because my family probably wouldn't eat it otherwise. I used dill pickles in lieu of sweet relish, again my picky family's preference. I chopped it all in the food processor, which was so easily good! Then went to combine with the mayo and realized I was light on mayo. I ended up using half mayo and half ranch dressing. We really enjoyed it this way, but then we love ranch around here. I don't think it needs the salt called for and didn't add it. I thought the green bell pepper added a delicious crunch! Thanks for the post. Made a darn good sandwich. This is also great served on lettuce leaves with cheese sprinkled on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very good. Only 4 stars b/c it was alittle too mayo for me. Next time I think I'll scale down the mayo. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/4 cup onion & grn pepper. As others suggested I didn't add any salt. I also added some colby cheese, which added good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good! I made it in my 3 cup electric food chopper. I first chopped up the onion and celery, then ham and rest of ingredients. It got chopped fine and mixed all in the one container. I cut way back on the recipe. I just wanted to make enough for a sandwich and/or on crackers. I used leftover honey-baked spiral cut ham. I didn't really measure ingredients but just eye-balled it and tasted. I got way too much onion at first, so then added more ham and mayo. I didn't have any green pepper but think it would add a nice touch. No more will I buy ham salad at the deli. Thanks, James!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
My first time using this and loved it. So did my daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Didn't have green pepper, but wish I did! Great with sweet relish, but I'll try dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Summitville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Excellent way to use the end of the meat on that ham bone! I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo...less calories, more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Outstanding! This was one of the best ham salads we have ever eaten! I made some changes: I cut the recipe down to six servings ~ and that *still* made quite a bit of salad! I, too, omitted the green pepper and salt (most ham is salty enough already!) and found it to be perfect without it. Another thing I did was to use the "chop" button on the blender for the ham; then I threw everything into a big bowl and mixed it up. What a great way to use up the left over ham from Easter dinner! Thanks for sharing ~ this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Yummy! I am trying to use up the rest of this spiral cut ham that my boyfriend got, and this is yet another delicious way to do so! I didn't change a thing with the exception of omitting the salt (this particular ham was very salty already). I'm going to serve this on wheat thins for my man when he comes home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I could have eaten it all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States