Ham Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dick
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The best ever, ever, the James Beard House would be proud to serve these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made the ham spread this morning, I used half mayo and half miracle whip and just a dab of sour cream. I didn't add any salt, the ham has enough in it ( smoked ham ) . I used a dill pickle i had on hand from Jimmy Johns, and some sweet relish . red bell pepper , celery chopped small and a little red onion to my liking . it's one of my husband's favorite ways to have left over ham from any holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I apologize for not posting a picture. This Ham Salad was gone before I had the opportunity. I made the recipe as written. I have thrown Ham Salad before, and was unimpressed. I had a leftover 1/2 pound of BOARS HEAD deli ham that I needed to use. Using the Awesome tool or ALLRECIPES I adjusted the recipe. Now for all those whiners out there who complained up "too much salt", DUH. Even a beginning chef knows you taste as you season. Just because James said to add 2 tsp., ultimately it good to check it out. Ham is different and has varying degrees of saltiness. This recipe is now added to my recipe box....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Used leftover Honey Baked ham for this recipe. Added horseradish, prepared mustard, minced carrots and cucumber. Did not add any salt as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First, you need to know that I always make my first attempt at a recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN. I make NO substitutions, additions or subtractions. That being said... The flavor is good. It would be a hit as an appetizer, served with crackers and cheese. But the texture is not what we were looking for. It was "wet," and bland (to us). To rectify the situation, I placed all ingredients in the food processor. I added 10-12 crushed bacon flavored Ritz(TM) Crackers; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/4 tsp cayenne powder. If your mixture is not too "wet," and you don't use crackers, you MAY need to add a pinch of salt. TASTE FIRST! I give it 4 stars (can't give it 4.5 stars, or I would have) because it needed adjustments for my family, but it is a great starting place for making it to your own preference. Thanks James!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just like the store-made stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
For me, this recipe made way too much dressing for the rest of the ingredients. Didn't really care for the relish element either - just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I like it, made a couple changes. About half the salt is plenty. Also, I prefer using an old fashioned grinder and running ham, green pepper and bread & butter pickles thru the grinder. I also added about 2 Tbsps of ground mustard. Great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful *base* recipe to use leftover ham in a hurry. However, as written, this recipe uses too much onion and is too salty. The longer you keep the dish in the fridge, the stronger the onion will become. The first time I made this, I couldn't get enough and was eating right from the processor. The next day, the onion had consumed the flavor the ham and I couldn't get past the first bite. This time I used about 2T of chopped white onion; enough to taste it the first day and enhanced the flavor of the ham the following day. I used 1 C Smart Balance light dressing in place of the mayonnaise. Since everyone seems to have their own mayonnaise preference, you may want to start by adding 1/2 C at a time. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 dill relish. The sweet relish provided a nice contrast to the ham and onion. There really isn't a need to mix the wet ingredients separately. I threw the diced ham, onion and celery in the food processor and pulsed until I was happy with the consistency. I transferred the ham mixture to a storage bowl then added the dressing and relish. This meal is designed to be enjoyed over a few days. Since the original recipe didn't taste good beyond day one, I had to give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Made a batch of this for lunch and it was really good. Its your typical ham salad but I really enjoyed the addition of bell peppers crunchy yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States