Ham Roulette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I made these to take to a Mardi Gras parade for about 20 family members. They did all get eaten, but that isn't really an accomplishment with this group. I didn't hear much as far as rave reviews which I did for some of the other dishes I brang so they rate an okay. Visually they are not very appealing. My brother thought they looked like potatoe salad rolled up in ham. My dad thought that was what they were. I thought they looked like deviled egg filling. I did make a few changes because the other reviewers complained about the mess and didn't have trouble with the mess issue. I cut the pickles down to two. I thought the pickle taste was still very strong. I decreased the mustard to about 1 tablespoon. I left the chives out because I forgot to buy some and added about 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I put about 1/4 cup of filling on each slice of ham and ended up with about 8 rolls. They were not really that messy. I may make again, just because they were so easy. I will have to find a way to adjust the filling so it doesn't look like potatoe salad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I love those ham/cream cheese/pickle roll ups that you see at parties so this was a shoo in! I love to keep these around for a quick snack. I think it's best with the refrigerated kosher dills and dijon mustard. I use jar chives also to make it quicker to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
It's good but mine came out so messy, it's hard to make it look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Great party recipe, make sure you make enough because there won't be any leftovers. A little bit messy to eat though, we tried with tooth picks but it is definately a wonderful finger appetizer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Why not take a tortilla, especially a colorful spinach or roasted red pepper type, spread the filling onto the tortilla, top with the ham, and roll up, chill, cut and serve? To avoid the filling's 'potato salad' look other reviewers complained about you could actually keep the ingredients separate and layer them...even leaving the pickle spears whole and placing them length-wise on the tortilla before you roll it, and having the pickle in the center of your roll-up. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Messy! ALTERNATIVE RECIPE: Large, whole dill pickles Deli Ham, sliced thin but not shaved Mix: a little softened cream cheese, a little mayo, a little mustard of choice, and a sprinkling of chives. Method: Drain and dry liquid from whole dill pickles. Spread mixture very thinly on slices of ham. Place whole pickle at one end of ham and carefully roll up tightly. Refrigerate a couple of hours. When ready to serve, slice each in slices about 1/2 thick. Stick each with a toothpick and arrange on a platter. Watch how fast they go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARASOADAV1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I gave this 3 stars because it tastes OK but I probably won't make again due to messy appearance. My husband LOVES ham and these really didn't appeal to him much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is OK, but to make it better, spread your cream cheese mixture on the ham slices, then place a thinly sliced piece of Swiss cheese on top. Spread a little more of the cream cheese on the Swiss, roll up..chill...slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I did not like this I had to change it up: #1 = spread cream cheese on ham put a whole pickle at one end and roll up and put in the fridge for a few hours then slice. I also do the cream cheese on the ham then put a green onion on one end and roll up then put in the fridge for a few hours slice and stick with a tooth pick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States