Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My husband had a favorite potato soup that he liked me to make but once I tried this on him he says the search for the best is over! He LOVED it! I made it exactly as called for and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
we thought it was great! delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had my doubts about the cheese in the soup, but, my husband and son loved it; no leftovers! It was a little salty to me, but, otherwise very good. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Very good. I started to make this thinking I would use Cheddar cheese, but when it came time to add it, I didn't have enough. The only thing I had was Mozzarella.(I wasn't sure if that would work out) I tried it anyway and it ws very good. My cheese did not melt very well though so it was a good thing it was only for my family. Next time I make this I will do according to the recipe and use Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Good soup but made some changes along the way. Without the changes, I would have rated this lower. Added a can of Campbell's chicken broth (10 ounces); also celery seed, heavy cream instead of milk and more of it; blend of russet as well as Yukon gold potatoes, seasoning salt, more black pepper etc. This was better the second day. Really comforting and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was so yummy and so easy to make. My husband liked it so much I made it twice in one week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetalChef24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very good hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
FANTASTIC! I read the other reviews and made the following changes based on my families preferences and reviews. First I simmered a ham bone with ham (for the recipe), carrots and onion in 12 c. water for 2 hours. I removed bone and veggies and discarded. I then took out ham and chopped. I used exactly 6 cups of this broth to start this soup instead of water. I also chopped up the 2 onions very small and carmelized in olive oil before adding to the broth and ham. The rest I left intact except for substituting 1c. half & half for the 1 c. milk. I read where some reviwers didnt add the flour 'paste' and also left out the milk...I think if you don't use the flour 'paste' you wouldn't need the milk? The 6 c. broth (or water) is perfect. I used the full amount of cheese (velveeta) as this really is a HUGE pot of soup and I felt half wouldn't do the flavor justice. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is the best potatoe soup I have ever had! It is so rich and creamy. I used a box of American deluxe cheese (I found it next to the velveeta) and a 1/2 lbs of mild cheddar. I like velveeta, but I prefer other cheese personally. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States