Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This soup was so amazing!! It was very creamy! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow Mills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This came out very good. I used Sierra Gold potatoes, only half of the Velveeta (by the way- I was very leary of ruining my soup with velveeta - we cant stand it! But, it did melt nice and provide a subtle flavor with no oily separation). I then planned to add 2 cups of cheddar but decided it was plenty cheesy for our taste. I started soup in the morning, pureed the onion and potatoes after cooking with a hand blender, then added our leftover ham with bone from Easter and let it simmer all day. Added the cheese and milk about an hour before serving. Came out good! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Wonderful.. We had cooked a smoked pork shank, and reserved the liquid, removing the fat when it separated.. used that liquid and chicken stock to cover the ham and veg..I also sweated off the onions before adding the ham and potato, to sweeten their flavor. We loved this and will do it again. Also, the leftovers seem to freeze well for a short period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I read the reviews before I started. I recommend that everyone do that. I used one can chicken broth and 1 can water to cook the veg. I made the recipe for 6. Added less onions than it asked the recipe asked for, I also added about 1/4 cup thinly sliced celery and 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrots. It turned out great and I will be keeping the recipe in my collection for a long time. I appreciate Donna for the recipe and everyone who reviewed the recipe before me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very easy to make, takes a while for prep but very worth it in the end. Recommend using 1 onion unless you love onion. It can overpower the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was ok, but it ended up to be more of a casserole then a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My husband had a favorite potato soup that he liked me to make but once I tried this on him he says the search for the best is over! He LOVED it! I made it exactly as called for and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
we thought it was great! delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had my doubts about the cheese in the soup, but, my husband and son loved it; no leftovers! It was a little salty to me, but, otherwise very good. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Very good. I started to make this thinking I would use Cheddar cheese, but when it came time to add it, I didn't have enough. The only thing I had was Mozzarella.(I wasn't sure if that would work out) I tried it anyway and it ws very good. My cheese did not melt very well though so it was a good thing it was only for my family. Next time I make this I will do according to the recipe and use Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States