Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Used sharp cheddar instead of velveta. Topped with chives and crumbled bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was phenomenal! The only thing I did different was add carrots and celery, and, since I only had one onion, I used that and a package if dry onion soup mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlreiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Webster, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was delicious! However, I was diligent about adding additional vegetables (diced & sautéed carrots, celery, corn & onions) & seasoning each layer of flavor. The prep & long, slow cooking (took about four hours!) paid off. I used diced cheddar instead of Velveeta (2 pounds is a lot of cheese product?). Made so much we shared with neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now, each time adding something different. We love ham and so its loaded with it! I cook the potatoes in chicken stock, use half & half instead of milk, add bacon (everything's better with bacon!), for a little different texture I use instant mashed potatoes to thicken, and last time I added some red pepper flakes just to give it a little kick. It was just what it needed according to my hubby! Making it again today just because we like having the quick leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portal, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent flavor and texture. I used chicken stock in lieu of water and added bacon and celery as well as Velveeta Sharp to boost the cheese taste. If you like a cheese soup, you'll like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Love this soup, my kids also big fans. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onekama, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I loved this simple and fast soup. I did the flour paste but instead of milk I added 1 8oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup sour cream, plus a bit of garlic and salt. So amazing for a cold snowy day in Colorado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Dean Balleck-Stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made it with no changes. Good but a bit too cheesy. I would recommend using half the cheese called out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Fail, fail fail. Too thin, and burned the pan. I followed the directions exactly. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Mohler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States