Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was delicious! However, I was diligent about adding additional vegetables (diced & sautéed carrots, celery, corn & onions) & seasoning each layer of flavor. The prep & long, slow cooking (took about four hours!) paid off. I used diced cheddar instead of Velveeta (2 pounds is a lot of cheese product?). Made so much we shared with neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now, each time adding something different. We love ham and so its loaded with it! I cook the potatoes in chicken stock, use half & half instead of milk, add bacon (everything's better with bacon!), for a little different texture I use instant mashed potatoes to thicken, and last time I added some red pepper flakes just to give it a little kick. It was just what it needed according to my hubby! Making it again today just because we like having the quick leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portal, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent flavor and texture. I used chicken stock in lieu of water and added bacon and celery as well as Velveeta Sharp to boost the cheese taste. If you like a cheese soup, you'll like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Love this soup, my kids also big fans. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onekama, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I loved this simple and fast soup. I did the flour paste but instead of milk I added 1 8oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup sour cream, plus a bit of garlic and salt. So amazing for a cold snowy day in Colorado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I made it with no changes. Good but a bit too cheesy. I would recommend using half the cheese called out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Fail, fail fail. Too thin, and burned the pan. I followed the directions exactly. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Really good!!! My Man said that I could make it any time. (Of course it is a man's meal - meat, potatoes, and cheese :) I added some additional seasonings of parsley, garlic, and a 1/8 tsp. of celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I make this all the time, usually with enough leftover that my boyfriend takes it to work and all of his employees love it just as much as we do! I also make a few adjustments, first by boiling a ham bone with fresh garlic for about 2 hours. Then I discard the ham bone and use the water and garlic for the soup. I don't use as much Velveeta and in place of it use shredded mozzarella. Also, I add baby butter beans, garlic powder, and a tiny bit of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antonette0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States