Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Ive made this a couple times now, and it is delicious. I left the onions out and used onion powder instead. I also added a little garlic powder and parsley. My husband loves this soup and likes to bring the leftovers to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It was good, alittle blah tho. I did not use any milk and I used bacon and pepper and it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klizanich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made it just a the recipe reads and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is the first time I have written a review on this site, but I just had to for this recipe. I followed it exactly, except I forgot to add the milk. It turned out perfect. I will be using this recipe from now on and will omit the milk every time. My husband and his co-worker, who was here, loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've made this two times now, once the full version the second I cut the recipe in half. Both times it just didn't turn out great. I've tried yukon gold's and russet, water and stock, both variations turned out the same. Not as cheesy as it should be and thin. Both times I had to use a corn starch slurry to thicken it up. I'm just not convinced that using the ratio of "cover with water" is good enough. I don't think I'll try this recipe again, it's time for me to move onto a new one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Just made it for the first time. Added chicken stock and garlic. Also simmered it with ham bone. Still found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Here is what I did and it came out AWESOME! I put 6 cups water in a stock pot then added 3 tbsp onion powder, 1 tsp. dried parsley, 1/8 tsp black pepper, 2 cups fully cooked chopped ham, 6 cubed medium potatoes. I cooked it about 20 minutes or until almost all the water evaporated and most of the potatoes were mushy. I then stirred in 1/2 cup of cream and a 1/2 cup of whole milk with 1 1/2 pounds of Velveeta cheese until melted. I made sure it was heated through and served with Double Quick Dinner Rolls from this site!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen82383

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
so good! I used chicken stock and water to cook the potatoes. Makes a huge amount, great for large group or freezing for a 2nd meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
GReat soup! I made a few changes, instead of water I used chicken broth. I also browned the ham in the pot before adding the other ingrediants. To give it a little extra kick I added some dry ranch powder. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States