Ham, Potato, and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
My husband and kids really liked this one. It was very easy to make. I've frozen it in Gladware so that we can enjoy it throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Very good...even the kids in my house that dont particularly like ham ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
LOVE this soup!! I had an extra ham bone (well my mother-in-law gave it to me) so I simmered it for a few hours w/ 6 c. of water, 2 carrots, 2 celery stalks (w/ leaves), and an onion (discarding the veges before adding the other ingredients). Doing this made an excellent broth, enhancing the flavor of the soup even more. I skimmed out most of the onion before adding the cheese because there was WAAAAYY to much. Next time I will add celery & carrots as well & maybe mash up a few more potatoes to thicken it some. Thanks Donna, this is a great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I love this recipe and have shared it with many friends. Even my picky 9 year-old likes it. Great for left-over ham. Have made it with half Velveeta and half cheddar. It's hard to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I love this recipe. Ive made it twice and the second time didnt watch it close enough and over cooked the potatoes. Which is'nt necessarily a bad thing, because it saved me a step, just drain the water add the cheese, mix and youre done. It just changes the consistency of the soup to a thicker pureed soup. And I always sautee the onions first,instead of boiling them, I just think you get a better flavor that way. Awesome recipe, thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This is soooo delicious. I added a touch of basil to add some color. I will be eating the leftovers all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a very delectable entree. I substituted chicken breast for the ham, New York sharp cheddar for the velveeta, and a small variety of fresh vegetables for the potatoes. Quite yummy if you ask me, and the children just adored it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
really, really great soup and quick to fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
The flavor rocks!! I have brought the left overs to work with me everyday this week for lunch...is just as good each day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This soup is awesome my family really enjoyed it! I didn't use any flour it was thick enough and I didn't have processed cheese so I used chedder, either way I'm sure it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States